What is the difference between Uredospore and Teleutospore?

The key difference between uredospore and teliospore is the thickness of the cell wall of each spore. Uredospores have thin spore cell walls while teliospores have thick spore cell walls. Spores are reproductive structures of fungi. They undergo meiosis during cell propagation.

How many types of spores are formed in Puccinia graminis?

Puccinia forms four types of spores: urediniospores, teliospores, and basidiospores on wheat, and aeciospores on barberry.

What is uredospores of Puccinia?

Uredospores is formed by Puccinia on wheat. It causes black stem rust of wheat in almost all wheat-growing areas of the world, inflicting considerable damage on wheat. The presence of uredospores represents the first symptoms of the disease.

Which stage of Puccinia graminis are found in wheat?

The life cycle of Puccinia occurs through five stages. The first stage is the transmission of the Aeciospores, these spores infect the wheat plants on germination.

Which are the five types of spores in rust fungi?

Rust fungi are macrocyclic when their life cycle includes five spore states that are often designated by Roman numerals: spermatia (0), aeciospores (I), urediniospores (II), teliospores (III), and basidiospores (IV).

What is the class of Puccinia?

The Pucciniomycetes are a class of fungi in the Pucciniomycotina subdivision of the Basidiomycota. The class contains 5 orders, 21 families, 190 genera, and 8016 species. It includes several important plant pathogens causing forms of fungal rust.


What are the 5 stages of Puccinia?

Puccinia graminis is macrocyclic, producing all five spore stages: basidiospores, pycniospores (spermatia), aeciospores, urediniospores (uredospores), and teliospores.

What is telial stage?

The telial stage provides an overwintering strategy in the life cycle of a parasitic heteroecious fungus by producing teliospores; this occurs on cedar trees. A primary aecial stage is spent parasitizing a separate host plant which is a precursor in the life cycle of heteroecious fungi.

Which stage of Puccinia is known as black or winter stage?

The telia are black, thick-walled dikaryotic spores which are known as teliospores. They further undergo karyogamy to produce basidiospores. The basidiospores germinate into haploid mycelium. This stage is not infected in wheat but is infectious to the alternative host which is barberry.

What are the different spore types in Puccinia graminis tritici?

Puccinia graminis is macrocyclic, producing all five spore stages: basidiospores, pycniospores (spermatia), aeciospores, urediniospores (uredospores), and teliospores.

Which type of spores of Puccinia graminis tritici infect the barberry plant?

tritici, under natural conditions in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. Barberry was recently shown to be infected by basidiospores of the wheat stripe rust pathogen, Puccinia striiformis f. sp.

Which one is Monokaryotic spores in Puccinia graminis?

Vegetative Structure of Puccinia Graminis:

The mycelium is dikaryotic (each cell of the mycelium bears two nuclei) on primary host (wheat) and monokaryotic (each cell of the mycelium bears only one nucleus) on the secondary or alternate host (barbery).

What is the life cycle of Puccinia graminis?

There are five stages present in the life cycle of puccinia which are uridinial stage, talial stage, basidial stage, pycenial stage and asial stage. First three stages present in wheat plant and effect the barberry plant while the last two stages produce in the barberry plant but effect the wheat plant.

Which fungus is known as rust fungus?

The fungus that causes leaf rust is Puccinia triticina Eriks (formerly known as Puccinia recondita) and mainly attacks the leaves; the one that causes stripe rust is Puccinia striiformis f. sp. tritici and mainly attacks the leaves and the glume; and the stem rust is caused by the Puccinia graminis f. sp.

What is black rust of wheat?

Stem rust, also known as black rust, is caused by the fungus Puccinia graminis f. sp. tritici. It infects wheat and other cereals across all U.S. growing regions.

Which fungi causes rust of wheat?

Disease cycle

Leaf rust is caused by the fungus Puccinia triticina.

What are the three types of rust?

Types of rust:
  • Yellow Rust. Iron oxide-hydroxide FeO(OH)H2O (high moisture) Yellow rust is present in metals that are found in large amounts of standing water. …
  • Brown Rust. Oxide Fe2O3 (high oxygen/low moisture) …
  • Black Rust. Iron (II)oxide – Fe3O4 (limited oxygen)

What is rust and give example?

Rusting of iron is an example of a redox reaction. During rusting, iron combines with oxygen in the presence of water. This is an oxidation reaction where oxygen acts as an oxidising agent.