What are the 4 classifications of law?

Law can be classified in different categories. They may be common law and equity, civil and criminal, public and private, substantive and procedural, written and unwritten. These different classes of the law have their unique features yet they overlap.

What are the 6 classifications of law?

Law may be classified in various different ways but the most important classification of law is as follows: – Municipal Law and International Law, Public Law and Private Law, Criminal Law and Civil Law, Substantive Law and Procedural Law.

What are the 7 types of law?

The following are the major classifications of law:
  • Public and Private Law.
  • Civil Law and Criminal Law.
  • Substantive and Procedural Law.
  • Municipal and International Law.
  • Written and Unwritten Law.
  • Common Law and Equity.

What are the classifications of law in the legal system?

Fields of law which are generally classified as fields of public law are constitutional law, criminal law and administrative law.

What are the 2 classification of law?

Two types of law – civil and cri. Criminal – state or federal prosecutors bring a case against a person charged with a major crime, called a felony. Civil – deals with lawsuits brought by individuals or the government against other individuals, organizations or companies.

What are the importance of classification of law?

With these classifications of law at hand, it becomes extremely easy for the lawyer, as well as the court as a whole, to know what is what, and which is which. In other words, the classifications of law are necessary for a simple, procedural, and even rigid judicial process.

What do you mean by law explain its classification?

Law is a set of rules that are created and are enforceable by social or governmental institutions to regulate behavior, with its precise definition a matter of longstanding debate. It has been variously described as a science and as the art of justice.

What are the three main categories of law?

  • Criminal Law.
  • Civil Law.
  • Administrative Law.

What is difference between substantive law and Procedural Law?

The Substantive Law is a Statutory law that defines and determines the rights and obligations of the citizen to be protected by law. Procedural Law or Adjective Law deals with the enforcement of Law that is guided and regulated by the practice, procedure and machinery.

What are the classification of law in Kenya?

The branch of law, regulates the relationship between its citizens and the state in general. The law is also important as it regulates the operation of various organizations in the market system of Kenya. The major categories of public law include constitutional, criminal and administrative law.

What are the three classifications of law in Zambia?

Public law deals with the state and includes such branches as criminal law, constitutional law, and administrative law; whereas private law includes contracts, torts, property law, and family law. Finally, the law may be classified into criminal and civil.

What are the 8 sources of law?

The primary sources of law in the United States are the United States Constitution, state constitutions, federal and state statutes, common law, case law, and administrative law.

What are the classifications of law in Uganda?

Applicable Law

[5] The laws applicable in Uganda are statutory law, common law, doctrines of equity and customary law.

What are the three classes of law?

Under the common law system of the United States, three major categories of laws are defined at the federal and state levels: criminal, civil (or tort), and administrative (or regulatory) laws.

What are the 3 types of law?

  • Criminal Law.
  • Civil Law.
  • Administrative Law.