What are the classification of leukemia?

There are four main types of leukemia—acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL), acute myeloid leukemia (AML), chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) and chronic myeloid leukemia (CML)—as well as a number of less common types.

What is the main pathology of Leukaemia?

Leukemia usually involves the white blood cells. Your white blood cells are potent infection fighters — they normally grow and divide in an orderly way, as your body needs them. But in people with leukemia, the bone marrow produces an excessive amount of abnormal white blood cells, which don’t function properly.

What are the 4 types of leukemia?

Types of Leukemia
  • About Hairy Cell Leukemia (HCL)
  • Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (ALL)
  • Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML)
  • Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia (APL)
  • Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL)
  • Chronic Myeloid Leukemia (CML)
  • Myeloproliferative Neoplasms (MPN)
  • Systemic Mastocytosis.

WHO classification of leukemia is based on?

Classification of Leukemia

The WHO classification is based on a combination of clinical, morphologic, immunophenotypic, and genetic features. Other less commonly used classification systems include the French-American-British (FAB) system, which is based on the morphology of the abnormal leukocytes.

How many types of leukemia are there?

There are 4 main types of leukemia, based on whether they are acute or chronic, and myeloid or lymphocytic: Acute myeloid (or myelogenous) leukemia (AML) Chronic myeloid (or myelogenous) leukemia (CML) Acute lymphocytic (or lymphoblastic) leukemia (ALL)

WHO classification AML pathology?

Subcategories include AML with minimal differentiation, without maturation, with maturation, acute myelomonocytic leukemia, acute monoblastic and monocytic leukemia, pure erythroid leukemia, acute megakaryoblastic leukemia, acute basophilic leukemia, and acute panmyelosis with myelofibrosis.

WHO AML classification vs Fab?

Two staging systems are commonly used for acute myeloid leukemia (AML). The French-American-British (FAB) classification system is based on morphology to define specific immunotypes. The World Health Organization (WHO) classification reviews chromosome translocations and evidence of dysplasia.

WHO AML classification system?

The World Health Organization (WHO) classification is the main system used to classify AML into subtypes. It includes prognostic (predictive) factors, such as chromosomal abnormalities and genetic mutations, which are known to affect the future outcome of the cancer.

What causes leukaemia?

Acute myeloid leukaemia (AML) is caused by a DNA mutation in the stem cells in your bone marrow that produce red blood cells, platelets and infection-fighting white blood cells. The mutation causes the stem cells to produce many more white blood cells than are needed.

What is the pathophysiology of all?

Pathophysiology of ALL

Similar to acute myeloid leukemia, acute lymphoblastic leukemia is caused by a series of acquired genetic aberrations. Malignant transformation usually occurs at the pluripotent stem cell level, although it sometimes involves a committed stem cell with more limited capacity for self-renewal.

What is the pathophysiology of lymphoma?

Pathophysiology of Non-Hodgkin Lymphomas

Most lymphomas are nodal with variable involvement of the bone marrow and peripheral blood. A leukemia-like picture with peripheral lymphocytosis and bone marrow involvement may be present in up to 50% of children and about 20% of adults with some types of non-Hodgkin lymphoma.

What factors cause leukemia?

Exposure to high levels of radiation and certain chemicals are the main risk factors we know about for leukemia, particularly acute myeloid leukemia (AML). Our researchers have led efforts to identify many genes that are associated with the disease and that can guide us in selecting the most-effective treatment.

What is the pathophysiology of acute myeloid leukemia?

Pathophysiology of AML

, acute myeloid leukemia is caused by a series of acquired genetic aberrations. Malignant transformation usually occurs at the pluripotent stem cell level, although it sometimes involves a committed stem cell with more limited capacity for self-renewal.

What is the difference between ALL and AML leukemia?

What is the difference between AML and ALL? AML and ALL are both cancers of the blood and bone marrow. The main difference between the two is that AML affects the production of myeloblasts, red blood cells, and platelets, whereas ALL mainly affects the production of lymphocytes.

Why is it called acute leukemia?

The word “acute” in acute lymphocytic leukemia comes from the fact that the disease progresses rapidly and creates immature blood cells, rather than mature ones.

What is the pathophysiology of chronic myeloid leukemia?

Chronic myeloid leukemia (CML) is a stem cell disease characterized by excessive accumulation of clonal myeloid (precursor) cells in hematopoietic tissues. CML cells display the translocation t(9; 22) that creates the bcr/abl oncogene.

WHO classification AML?

This AML type is defined as a neoplasm with ≥20% blasts expressing a myeloid immunophenotype and harboring specific cytogenetic and molecular abnormalities associated with MDS, arising de novo or following a known history of MDS or MDS/MPN.

What is the difference between CML and AML?

AML and CML are blood and bone marrow cancers that affect the same lines of white blood cells. AML comes on suddenly as very immature cells crowd out normal cells in the bone marrow. CML comes on more slowly, with the CML cells growing out of control.

What are the phases of chronic myeloid Leukaemia?

There are three phases of CML: chronic, accelerated, and blast. Classifying someone into these phases depends on the number of blast cells in the blood or bone marrow.

What are the phases of chronic myeloid leukemia?

To help doctors plan treatment and predict prognosis, which is the chance of recovery, CML is divided into 3 different phases: chronic, accelerated, or blast.