What are the three types of myopia?

Understanding the types of myopia
  • High myopia. High myopia is the term given to a severe level of short-sightedness, and in some cases, it can lead to eye health complications. …
  • Degenerative myopia. Degenerative myopia can also be known as pathological or malignant myopia. …
  • Progressive myopia.

What are the stages of myopia?

Mild myopia is 0 D to −1.5 D, moderate −1.5 D to −6.0 D, and high myopia −6.0 D or more. Pathological myopia occurs with more than −8.0 D, although retinal disease, cataract, and glaucoma—the associated threats to vision—can also occur in patients with moderate and high myopia.

How many types of myopia are there?

two types
There are two types of myopia: high myopia and pathological myopia. High myopia can increase the risk of retinal detachment, glaucoma, and cataracts. Pathological myopia is known as a degenerative disease that starts in childhood and worsens in adulthood.

What is a characteristic of myopia?

In nearsightedness (myopia), the point of focus is in front of the retina, making distant objects appear blurry. Nearsightedness (myopia) is a common vision condition in which near objects appear clear, but objects farther away look blurry.