How do you classify gestational age?

Assessment of gestational age—new Ballard score
  1. Premature. …
  2. Late pre-term. …
  3. Early term: 37 0/7 weeks through 38 6/7 weeks.
  4. Full term: 39 0/7 weeks through 40 6/7 weeks.
  5. Late term: 41 0/7 weeks through 41 6/7 weeks.
  6. Postterm: 42 0/7 weeks and beyond.
  7. Postmature.

What is the classification of newborn?

Neonates can be classified based on gestational age (preterm, late preterm, term, post term), birthweight (extremely low birthweight [ELBW], very low birthweight [VLBW], low birthweight [LBW], etc.), and gestational age and birthweight combined (small for gestational age [SGA], appropriate for gestational age [AGA], …

How do you categorize birth weight?

The term low birth weight. ‘Low birth weight’ (LBW) has been defined as first weight recorded within hours of birth of <2500 g. Very low birth weight (VLBW) is accepted as <1500 g and extremely low birth weight (ELBW) is <1000 g [1].

What are the 3 categories of low birth weight?

Low birth weight (LBW): A LBW baby weighs less than 2500 grams, or 5 lbs 5 oz. Very low birth weight (VLBW): A VLBW baby weighs less than 1500 grams, or about 3 lb 9 oz. Extremely low birth weight (ELBW): An ELBW baby weighs less than 1000 grams, or about 2 lb 3 oz.

What are the 4 types of babies?

4 baby personality types
  • The Sociable Baby. This baby loves interaction with both her environment and other people. …
  • The Slow To Warm Up Baby. This baby is sensitive to change and takes a while to adjust to new situations. …
  • The Settled Baby. …
  • The Sensitive Baby.

What are the 5 major classifications of birth defects?

Structural Birth Defects
  • Cleft lip or cleft palate.
  • Heart defects, such as missing or misshaped valves.
  • Abnormal limbs, such as a clubfoot.
  • Neural tube defects, such as spina bifida, and problems related to the growth and development of the brain and spinal cord.

What is the standard classification for a low birthweight infant?

A birthweight less than 2,500 grams (5 pounds, 8 ounces) is diagnosed as low birthweight. Babies weighing less than 1,500 grams (3 pounds, 5 ounces) at birth are considered very low birthweight.

What classification is low birth weight?

Birth weight
Low birth weight (LBW)<2500 g
Very low birth weight (VLBW)<1500 g
Extremely low birth weight (ELBW)<1000 g
Gestational age

What classes are low birth weight?

Low birth weight (under 2,500 grams) is associated with an increased risk of infant mortality, developmental problems in childhood and poorer health in later life. A large proportion of babies will be born under 2,500 grams because they are preterm births (born before 37 weeks of pregnancy).

What is the newborn stage called?

A neonate is also called a newborn. The neonatal period is the first 4 weeks of a child’s life.

What is the legal definition of a newborn?

Related Definitions

Newborn infant means a child who is under thirty days of age.

What is the type and classification of infant incubators?

Three common incubator types are: the open incubator, the closed incubator, and the transport incubator.

What are the 5 stages of baby development?

Child development can be broken down into five stages:
  • Newborn (0-3 months)
  • Infant (3-12 months)
  • Toddler (1-3 years)
  • Preschool age (3-4 years)
  • School age (4-5 years).

What are 5 newborns called?

A Simple Chart of Multiple Birth Terms
Number of BabiesTerm Used
5Quintuplets (quints)
18 sept 2022

What are the three stages of neonate?

The process of prenatal development occurs in three main stages. The first two weeks after conception are known as the germinal stage, the third through the eighth week is known as the embryonic period, and the time from the ninth week until birth is known as the fetal period.

What are the 5 age groups?

When to use
  • Newborn [newborn] Up to 3 months old. Newborn sizes are often identified by the age range in months (0–3) or just “newborn.”
  • Infant [infant] 3–12 months old. …
  • Toddler [toddler] 1–5 years old. …
  • Kids [kids] 5–13 years old. …
  • Adult [adult] Typically teens or older.

What are the 7 stage of development?

These stages include infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, adolescence, early adulthood, middle adulthood and old age.