What are the 4 types of data classification?

Data types with similar levels of risk sensitivity are grouped together into data classifications. Four data classifications are used by the university: Controlled Unclassified Information, Restricted, Controlled and Public.

What are the 3 main types of data classification?

Data classification generally includes three categories: Confidential, Internal, and Public data.

What are the classification of data?

Data classification is the process of organizing data into categories that make it easy to retrieve, sort and store for future use. A well-planned data classification system makes essential data easy to find and retrieve.

What are the five 5 classification levels of information?

Data Classification Levels

Data Classification in Government organizations commonly includes five levels: Top Secret, Secret, Confidential, Sensitive, and Unclassified. These can be adopted by commercial organizations, but, most often, we find four levels, Restricted, Confidential, Internal, Public.

What are the two classification of data?

Qualitative data and quantitative data

There are two types of data in statistics: qualitative and quantitative.

Why is data classification important?

Data classification provides a clear picture of all data within an organization’s control and an understanding of where data is stored, how to easily access it, and the best way to protect it from potential security risks.

How do you classify information?

7 Steps to Effective Data Classification
  1. Complete a risk assessment of sensitive data. …
  2. Develop a formalized classification policy. …
  3. Categorize the types of data. …
  4. Discover the location of your data. …
  5. Identify and classify data. …
  6. Enable controls. …
  7. Monitor and maintain.

What are data classification labels?

Data classification levels by themselves are simply labels (or tags) that indicate the value or sensitivity of the content. To protect that content, data classification frameworks define the controls that should be in place for each of your data classification levels.

What is data classification policy?

A data classification policy is a comprehensive plan used to categorize a company’s stored information based on its sensitivity level, ensuring proper handling and lowering organizational risk.

What is sensitive data classification?

Additional Information

At Ohio University, the term “sensitive data” refers to the classification of data at a medium or high level that must be protected against unauthorized disclosure.

What is the scope of data classification?

Scope. Define the types of data that must be classified and specify who is responsible for proper data classification, protection and handling. This policy applies to any form of data, including paper documents and digital data stored on any type of media.

Does GDPR require data classification?

Data Classification for GDPR

GDPR requires organizations to protect the data of their consumers and ensure proper security controls are in place. Data classification can help organizations organize their stored data based on assumed risk and then act on it accordingly.

What are personal data under GDPR?

Personal data is any form of data which can be used to identify an individual, natural person.

What are the characteristics of personal data?

Personal data can cover various types of information, such as name, date of birth, email address, phone number, address, physical characteristics, or location data – once it is clear to whom that information relates, or it is reasonably possible to find out.

What is defined as personal data?

According to the law, personal data means any information relating to an identified or identifiable individual; an identifiable person is one who can be identified, directly or indirectly, in particular by reference to an identification number (e.g. social security number) or one or more factors specific to his …

What type of data is included in data privacy?

Data privacy is typically applied to personal health information (PHI) and personally identifiable information (PII). This includes financial information, medical records, social security or ID numbers, names, birthdates, and contact information.