What is the classification of the spine?

The current AOSpine Trauma classification subdivides the spinal column into 4 regions: the upper cervical spine (C0-C2), subaxial cervical spine (C3-C7), thoracolumbar spine (T1-L5), and the sacral spine (S1-S5, including coccyx).

What are the 5 levels of the spinal cord?

As mentioned above, our vertebrae are numbered and divided into five regions: cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacrum, and coccyx.

What are common spinal injuries?

Common spine conditions and injuries include: Herniated discs. Lumbar spinal stenosis. Scoliosis.

What are the 4 divisions of the spinal cord?

According to its rostrocaudal location the spinal cord can be divided into four parts: cervical, thoracic, lumbar and sacral, two of these are marked by an upper (cervical) and a lower (lumbar) enlargement.

What is the most common spinal cord injury?

The most common causes of spinal cord injuries in the United States are: Motor vehicle accidents. Auto and motorcycle accidents are the leading cause of spinal cord injuries, accounting for almost half of new spinal cord injuries each year. Falls.

What are the different stages of spinal cord injury?

Traumatic Spinal Cord Injury: Primary and Secondary Injuries
  • Acute injury phase (less than 48 hours after the traumatic event)
  • Subacute injury phase (48 hours to 14 days after)
  • Intermediate injury phase (14 days to 6 months after)
  • Chronic injury phase (6 months after and beyond)

What are the 7 major structures of the spinal cord?

– Along its length, it consists of the cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacral, and coccygeal segments. 31 pair of nerves that emerge from the segments of the spinal cord to innervate the body structures; 8 pairs of cervical, 12 thoracic, 5 lumbar, 5 sacral, and 1 coccygeal pair of spinal nerves.

What are the 4 main functions of the spine?

Your spine, or backbone, is your body’s central support structure. It connects different parts of your musculoskeletal system. Your spine helps you sit, stand, walk, twist and bend.

What are the 3 main parts of the spinal cord?

Your spinal cord has three main parts: Cervical (neck). Thoracic (chest). Lumbar (lower back).

What does C4 C5-C6/C7 control?

C5, as mentioned earlier, along with C3 and C4, contributes to the phrenic nerve that innervates the diaphragm. Roots C5, C6, and C7 produce the long thoracic nerve, responsible for controlling the serratus anterior.

Can C5-C6 cause breathing problems?

An injury to the spinal cord at the C5-C6 level may cause pain, weakness, or paralysis in the arms and/or legs. There may be loss of bowel and bladder control or breathing problems in some cases.

Can a C5-C6 quadriplegic walk again?

Fortunately, it is possible for many SCI survivors. There is potential to walk again after SCI because the spinal cord has the ability to reorganize itself and make adaptive changes called neuroplasticity.

What does C4 and C5 affect?

The C4 myotome includes certain muscles that help in shoulder movements. The C5 spinal nerve dermatome typically includes parts of skin over the shoulder, upper arm, and forearm. The C5 myotome includes certain muscles that help in shoulder movements.

How serious is a bulging disc C5-C6?

If the C5 and C6 discs are bulging, they only cause pain about 50 percent of the time, but this condition can lead to a straightened neck; this leads to tension on the spine, known to cause numbness, pain, and tingling throughout the upper body.

Can you recover from a C6 spinal cord injury?

C6 Spinal Cord Injury Recovery

With all spinal cord injuries, damaged neurons in the central nervous system are unable to regenerate. The good news, however, is that spared neural pathways may offer opportunities for recovery.

What happens if C6 nerve is damaged?

A C6 spinal cord injury affects the cord near the base of the neck. Injuries to this area of the spinal cord can result in loss of sensation or function of everything in the body from the top of the ribcage on down, including all four extremities.

What part of the body does C5 and C6 affect?

c5-c6 is one of the most common levels for a cervical disc herniation to occur. A c5-c6 herniated disc can affect the nerves that control the muscles in the arms, neck, shoulders, hands as well as the head, eyes, ears, or thyroid gland.

Where does C5-C6 cause pain?

C5-C6 (C6 nerve root): Pain, tingling, and/or numbness may be felt in the thumb side of the hand. Weakness may also be experienced in the biceps (muscles in the front of the upper arms) and wrist extensor muscles in the forearms. The C5-C6 disc is one of the most common to herniate.

What nerves are affected by C6 and C7?

The C6-C7 disc is 6th cervical disc near the lower part of the neck, near the top of the shoulders. The nerve root that would be affected by the C6-C7 disc herniation controls the arms, the shoulders, the heart, the lungs, and more.

Can C5-C6 cause shoulder pain?

Patients with C5 or C6 radiculopathy complain of shoulder area pain or shoulder girdle weakness. Typical idiopathic neuralgic amyotrophy (INA) is also characterized by severe shoulder pain, followed by paresis of shoulder girdle muscles.

What nerves are affected by C1 and C2?

Nerves in the cervical spine

Cervical nerves C1, C2 and C3 control your forward, backward and side head and neck movements. The C2 nerve provides sensation to the upper area of your head; C3 gives sensation to the side of your face and back of your head.