What is the Explorer program for?

The Explorer Program provides educational training programs for young adults on the purposes, mission, and objectives of law enforcement. The program provides career orientation experiences, leadership opportunities, and community service activities.

Do Explorer Scouts still exist?

The Exploring club program was created in response to the U.S. Department of Education’s recent emphasis on career education at the elementary grade levels. Later in 2013, Learning for Life approved its first fully functioning executive board and now functions as an affiliate of the Boy Scouts of America.

Are Police Explorers part of Boy Scouts?

Founded on July 12, 1973, it’s one of the Exploring programs from Learning for Life, a non-Scouting subsidiary of the Boy Scouts of America. The program is generally available to qualified young adults who graduated 8th grade and are ages 14 through 21.

How old do you need to be to be an explorer?

Explorer Units are the fourth Section of the Scouting family after Beavers, Cubs and Scouts. Explorer Scouts are young people aged between 14 and 18 years old. There is flexibility in the age range: young people can join from age 13½ but cannot move to Scout Network until 18.

What comes after explorer scouts?

The next section after Explorers is the Scouting Network, which caters for members aged 18 to 25. This is run at County level and is much more informal than Explorers, catering for a wide range of members and available time.

What do Scout Explorers do?

Within their Unit, Explorers are part of a Patrol – smaller groups of Explorers who look out for one another, and help each other grow. Explorers usually gather in their Patrols at the beginning and end of meetings. They might also stick together on expeditions or trips away, or during certain activities.

Where do Explorer badges go?

Badges should be sewn onto the uniform blouse or sweatshirt. Badges should be sewn onto the Explorer Shirt or Blouse. All young people of Explorer age who participate in the Explorer Scout Young Leaders programme will be expected to wear the Explorers uniform.

What is the Explorer Scout Promise?

On my honour, I promise that I will do my best. To do my duty to God and the Queen, To help other people. And to keep the Scout Law.

What age are Venture Scouts?

Venturing is a program for young men and young women of ages 14–21 (or 13 and completed the 8th grade). This, along with Sea Scouting, Exploring, and Learning for Life, is one of the Boy Scouts of America’s four co-ed programs.

Do Explorers do badges?

Membership Award. This is the badge you receive when you are invested into the Explorer Unit and make your promise. It shows everybody that you are a member of the Scout Association.

How do you sew on a badge?

What is Chief Scout Gold Award?

Chief Scout’s Gold Award

This is the highest award a Scout can earn. To complete it, you need to complete all nine of the Challenge Awards, plus six Activity badges.

How many Explorer badges are there?

There are 28 Activity Badges available to Explorer Scouts. These build on the requirements of the Activity Badges in the Scout Section and lead towards the requirements for National Governing Body Awards. They range from Lifesaver to Mountain Activities and Snowboarding.

What do Explorer Scouts wear?

Usually, this consists of a beige shirt or blouse with their badges sewn on, which they pair with their Unit scarf – if they’re an independent Unit – or Group scarf, if their Unit is merged with a Scout Troop.

What are the Scout Challenge badges?

Challenge Badges

Each Scout challenge badge marks a real achievement. All nine challenge badges must be completed along with six activity or staged badges in order to get the Chief Scouts Gold Award which is the highest award in the Scout Section.