What is the spirituality of St Francis?

Francis is known and described in his biographies, and his life – whole and complete – is in itself a spiritual practice to God. From his caring of the poor to his adoration of nature to his fervent times of prayer, all of his actions were an act of worship.

What are some Franciscan values?

Service to the poor and marginalized, affirmation of the unique worth of each person, appreciation for beauty, reverence for all creation, and faith in a personal and provident God—these are the values and vision of St. Francis of Assisi.

What are Franciscan principles?

The Franciscan worldview emphasizes the dignity of the human person, the goodness of all creation, the responsibility to care for all creatures as sisters and brothers, and the importance of gratitude for all creation as gift from a generous God.

What is the origin of Franciscan spirituality?

The Franciscan Order was a mendicant religious order in 13th century High Medieval Europe. It was founded by Francis of Assisi, and given papal recognition in 1210. The Franciscans presented medieval Europe with a radically new type of religious order.

What are the Franciscan charism?

A sense of solidarity and belonging among all persons at the school. A community of self-disciplined persons. A place of pardon and peace. A community of service within the larger social community.

How do you live out Franciscan values?

Four Franciscan Values

To Live Lovingly means: We honor as sacred the worth and dignity of each person by embracing each person as my sister and brother. We create a compassionate, welcoming, and reconciling community, especially to those whom society excludes. We serve others with humility, compassion, and love.

What does Franciscan TOR stand for?

The Franciscans, Third Order Regular. The Franciscan Friars who founded and have operated Franciscan University since 1946 are members of the Third Order Regular of St. Francis of Penance (TOR) of the Province of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus.

What cardinal virtues did St. Francis of Assisi Practise?

Francis was known to practice the virtue of poverty to a high degree, owning no property, living very simply, begging for his food, living among and caring for those who were ostracized from society.

What is dignity of the individual?

Dignity is the right of a person to be valued and respected for their own sake, and to be treated ethically. It is of significance in morality, ethics, law and politics as an extension of the Enlightenment-era concepts of inherent, inalienable rights.

What are the 4 types of dignity?

I present four kinds of dignity and spell out their differences: the dignity of merit, the dignity of moral or existential stature, the dignity of identity and the universal human dignity (Menschenwürde).

Can a human person lose his dignity?

A person never loses his or her dignity.

There may of course be attacks on dignity, such as exploitation, murder or abandonment, but always a person will retain a fundamental dignity, which is the basis of his or her rights.

What are the 3 characteristics of human dignity?

After these preliminaries, I show in a second part that given such an understanding, we have ample evidence that we can indeed say that human dignity is an inherent, absolute and final value; and also that these three characteristics are properties of a single value.

What are the 7 basic characteristics of human rights?

  • #1. The right to life. …
  • #3. The right to equal treatment before the law. …
  • #4. The right to privacy. …
  • #5. The right to freedom of thought, religion, opinion, and expression. …
  • #7. The right to education. …
  • Everyone has the right to life, liberty, and personal security.

What are the 5 most important human rights?

These include the right to life, the right to a fair trial, freedom from torture and other cruel and inhuman treatment, freedom of speech, freedom of religion, and the rights to health, education and an adequate standard of living.

What are the 5 characteristics of human rights?

Human rights are universal and inalienable; indivisible; interdependent and interrelated. They are universal because everyone is born with and possesses the same rights, regardless of where they live, their gender or race, or their religious, cultural or ethnic background.

What are the 12 fundamental rights?

Fundamental Rights – Articles 12-35 (Part III of Indian…
  • Right to Equality.
  • Right to Freedom.
  • Right against Exploitation.
  • Right to Freedom of Religion.
  • Cultural and Educational Rights.
  • Right to Constitutional Remedies.

What are the 6 basic principles of the human rights framework?

The summary below is gratefully adapted from materials on this issue by our colleagues at the Scottish Human Rights Commission.
  • Participation. Everyone has the right to participate in decisions which affect their human rights. …
  • Accountability. …
  • Non-discrimination and equality. …
  • Empowerment. …
  • Legality.