What are the 6 common features of all vertebrae?

It will have a spinous process, two transverse processes, two superior articulating processes, inferior articulating processes, and a vertebral foramen. So we’ll see that some features of vertebra are paired, meaning that there is a left and right, and some of them are singular.

What are the characteristics of the cervical vertebrae?

The main anatomical characteristics of a typical cervical vertebra that separate it from other types of vertebrae are the small size, transverse foramina, saddle-shaped body, and bifid spinous process (Fig. 1.7. 18).

What are the characteristics of typical and atypical vertebrae?

The main difference between typical and atypical vertebrae is that typical vertebrae consist of a body, vertebral arch, and transverse processes, whereas atypical vertebrae contain deviated structures based on their functional requirements.

What are the major characteristics of vertebrae in the thoracic region?

The primary characteristic of the thoracic vertebrae is the presence of costal facets. There are six facets per thoracic vertebrae: two on the transverse processes and four demifacets—the facets of the transverse processes articulate with the tubercle of the associated rib.

What are the characteristics of lumbar vertebrae?

Typical lumbar vertebrae have several features distinct from those typical of cervical or thoracic vertebrae. The most notable distinction is the presence of a large vertebral body. The spinous process is short and thick, relative to the size of the vertebra, and projects perpendicularly from the body.

What are the 3 types of vertebrae and how are they different?

The vertebrae are classified into sections – cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacrum, and coccyx. The biggest difference between the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar vertebrae lies in their location. From where the skull starts, the cervical vertebrae constitute the first seven vertebrae.

What is the shape of the vertebral body?

The vertebral body

It is generally cylindrical in shape, but there is a wide range of variation for the shape and size in different regions and in different mammalian species. The most extreme is the first cervical vertebra (atlas) which has no body.

What are typical vertebrae?

Typical vertebrae include T2 to T8 thoracic vertebrae and also the lumbar vertebrae (except L5), the sacrum and coccyx. It also includes T1, T9, T10, T11, and T12 thoracic vertebrae and L5 of the lumbar vertebrae.

What are two unique features of lumbar vertebrae?

Distinguishing features of the lumbar vertebrae include a thick and stout vertebral body, a blunt, quadrilateral spinous process for the attachment of strong lumbar muscles, and articular processes that are oriented differently than those found on the other vertebrae.

What is the cervical vertebrae and its function?

Your cervical spine consists of the first seven vertebrae in your spine. It provides support for the weight of your head, surrounds and protects your spinal cord, and allows for a wide range of head motions.

What is the function of each cervical vertebrae?

The main function of the cervical vertebrae is to protect your spinal cord. The seven bones stacked upon one another form a bony tunnel for your spinal cord to travel through. The articulation of two bones creates a small hole, called a foramen, through which your peripheral spinal nerves travel.

What are the cervical vertebrae?

The cervical spine (neck region) consists of seven bones (C1-C7 vertebrae), which are separated from one another by intervertebral discs. These discs allow the spine to move freely and act as shock absorbers during activity.

What are the typical cervical vertebrae?

Typical Vertebrae: C3, C4, C5, and C6

Cervical vertebrae C3 through C6 are known as typical vertebrae because they share the same basic characteristics with most of the vertebrae throughout the rest of the spine.

What is the function of lumbar vertebrae?

Your lumbar vertebrae provide stability for your back and spinal column and allow for a point of attachment for many muscles and ligaments. Your lumbar vertebrae support most of your body’s weight.

What type of joint is the vertebrae?

The joints in the spine are commonly called Facet Joints. Other names for these joints are Zygapophyseal or Apophyseal Joints. Each vertebra has two sets of facet joints. One pair faces upward (superior articular facet) and one downward (inferior articular facet).

What is the function of thoracic vertebrae?

Your thoracic spine consists of 12 vertebrae, labeled T1 through T12. Vertebrae are the 33 individual, interlocking bones that form your spinal column. These bones help protect your spinal cord from injury while allowing you to twist and turn.

How many types of vertebrae are there?

In humans, the vertebral column usually consists of 33 vertebrae, placed in series and connected by ligaments and intervertebral discs. However, the number of vertebrae can vary between 32 and 35. Usually there are 7 cervical, 12 thoracic, 5 lumbar, 5 sacral and 4 caudal (coccygeal) vertebrae.

What are the 4 main functions of the spine?

Your spine, or backbone, is your body’s central support structure. It connects different parts of your musculoskeletal system. Your spine helps you sit, stand, walk, twist and bend.