What are the three classification of anesthesia?

There are three types of anesthesia: general, regional, and local. Sometimes, a patient gets more than one type of anesthesia. The type(s) of anesthesia used depends on the surgery or procedure being done and the age and medical conditions of the patient.

What are the four anesthetic agents?

Propofol, etomidate, and ketamine are the intravenous (IV) sedative-hypnotic agents commonly used to induce general anesthesia (table 1), while adjuvant agents (eg, opioids, lidocaine, midazolam) are often used to supplement the effects of the primary sedative-hypnotic induction agent (table 2).

What are the 5 types of anesthesia?

Types of Anesthesia
  • General Anesthesia. General anesthesia is used for major operations, such as a knee replacement or open-heart surgery, and causes you to lose consciousness.
  • IV/Monitored Sedation. Sedation is often used for minimally invasive procedures like colonoscopies. …
  • Regional Anesthesia. …
  • Local Anesthesia.

How are Anaesthetics classified give examples?

They are classified as being of the ester (benzocaine, 2-chloroprocaine, procaine, tetracaine) and amide types (bupivacaine, dibucaine, etidocaine, lidocaine, mepivacaine, prilocaine, S-ropivacaine).

What are the types of anaesthetic?

There are four main categories of anesthesia used during surgery and other procedures: general anesthesia, regional anesthesia, sedation (sometimes called “monitored anesthesia care”), and local anesthesia.

What are the 6 types of anesthesia?

The Different Kinds of Anesthesia
  • There are different types of anesthetics that may be used for your surgery. …
  • General Anesthesia. …
  • Regional Anesthesiology. …
  • Combined General with Epidural Anesthesia. …
  • Monitored Anesthesia Care with Conscious Sedation.

What is the name of anesthesia?

List of General anesthetics:
Drug NameAvg. RatingReviews
Diprivan (Pro) Generic name: propofol8.521 reviews
Ketalar (Pro) Generic name: ketamine3.05 reviews
Pentothal Generic name: thiopental8.23 reviews
Brevital Sodium (Pro) Generic name: methohexital102 reviews

What is General Anaesthesia?

General anaesthesia is a state of controlled unconsciousness. During a general anaesthetic, medicines are used to send you to sleep, so you’re unaware of surgery and do not move or feel pain while it’s carried out.

Which is example of intravenous anesthetics?

Intravenous (i.v.) anesthetics include etomidate, midazolam, propofol, thiopental, ketamine, and opioid agonists.

What type of anesthesia is propofol?

Propofol is an intravenous anesthetic used for procedural sedation, during monitored anesthesia care, or as an induction agent for general anesthesia. It may be administered as a bolus or an infusion, or some combination of the two.

What are the 4 stages of anesthesia?

They divided the system into four stages:
  • Stage 1: Induction. The earliest stage lasts from when you first take the medication until you go to sleep. …
  • Stage 2: Excitement or delirium. …
  • Stage 3: Surgical anesthesia. …
  • Stage 4: Overdose.

What’s the difference between general and local anesthesia?

local anaesthesia is where a small area of the body is numbed and you remain fully conscious – often used during minor procedures. general anaesthesia is where you’re totally unconscious and unaware of the procedure – often used for more serious operations.

What are the 3 phases of anaesthesia recovery?

Phases of Postanesthesia Care

The postanesthesia period may be separated into three levels of care: Phase I, Phase II, and Extended Care. 5 Each phase of recovery may occur in one PACU or in multiple locations, which may include the patient’s room (see Table 1).

What is the mechanism of anesthesia?

General anesthetics, particularly, inhibit the presynaptic voltage-gated sodium channels in glutamatergic synapse, which inhibits the excitation of the neuron by blocking the release of presynaptic neurotransmitters [5,13].