What are the main classifications of arthropods?

The phylum Arthropoda is commonly divided into four subphyla of extant forms: Chelicerata (arachnids), Crustacea (crustaceans), Hexapoda (insects and springtails), and Myriapoda (millipedes and centipedes).

What are the 5 characteristics of those classified under phylum Arthropoda?

The important characteristics of arthropoda include:
  • They possess an exoskeleton.
  • They have jointed appendages.
  • Their body is segmented.
  • They are bilaterally symmetrical.
  • They possess an open circulatory system.

How many classes are in arthropods?

The phylum Arthropoda contains numerous taxonomic orders in over 20 classes.

What are the 4 main types of arthropods?

Arthropods are divided into four major groups:
  • insects;
  • myriapods (including centipedes and millipedes);
  • arachnids (including spiders, mites and scorpions);
  • crustaceans (including slaters, prawn and crabs).

What are characteristics of arthropods?

All arthropods posses an exoskeleton, bi-lateral symmetry, jointed appendages, segmented bodies, and specialized appendages. The major arthropod classes can be separated by comparing their number of body regions, legs, and antennae.

What is the largest class of arthropods?

Answer and Explanation: The insects are the largest group of arthropods. Insects are distinctive from other arthropods because they have three divisions of their body: the head, thorax, and abdomen.

Why are arthropods important?

But arthropods are also responsible for a suite of activities that are beneficial to humans: pollinating crops, producing honey, eating or parasitizing insect pests, decomposing waste, and being food for a variety of birds, fish, and mammals.

What are the 7 levels of classification for a spider?

Classification of spiders
  • Phylum – Arthropoda.
  • Class – Arachnida.
  • Order – Araenae.
  • Suborder Mesothelae – segmented spiders.
  • Suborder Opisthothelae – includes all other spiders. Infraorder Mygalomorphae – ‘ancient’ spiders such as tarantulas, trapdoor and funnel web spiders).

Are all arthropods belong to the class Insecta?

Lions belong to the class mammalia All arthropods belong to the Class Insecta All rodents belong to the phylum chordata. All amphibians belong to the class reptilia.

How many species of Arthropoda are on Earth?

Phylum Arthropoda is the largest phylum of the kingdom Animalia. Over two-thirds of all named species on the Earth are arthropods. It includes around a million species.

What class of arthropod is a crab?

Malacostraca is the largest of the six classes of crustaceans, containing about 40,000 living species, divided among 16 orders.


Where are arthropods found?

Arthropods are found in almost all of the habitats that cover the Earth’s surface. Minute copepods (typically less than 1 millimetre long) are among the most abundant animals on Earth, especially in marine surface waters.

What is the example of arthropods?

Arthropod/Lower classifications