What is the classification of tigers?

Mammals are a group of vertebrate animals constituting the class Mammalia, characterized by the presence of mammary glands which in females produce milk for feeding their young, a neocortex, fur or hair, and three middle ear bones.


What is the phylum of the Bengal tiger?

Bengal tiger/Phylum

What are the characteristics of a Bengal tiger?

The Bengal tiger’s coat is yellow to light orange, with stripes ranging from dark brown to black; the belly and the interior parts of the limbs are white, and the tail is orange with black rings.

What is the Bengal tigers scientific name?

Why is the Bengal Tiger famous?

Bengal Tigers are famous for their rival-attacking abilities, and have been known to target nearby predators such as leopards and wolves when prey is scarce.

How many types of Bengal tigers are there?

There are six remaining sub-species of tiger: Bengal (Indian), Sumatran, Amur (Siberian), Malayan, Amoy (South China) and Indochinese.

Who is called tiger of India?

He was well known as “The Tiger Man of India”. He was awarded the Padma Shri in 1992 and Rajasthan Ratan in 2013.
Kailash Sankhala
Born30 January 1925 Jodhpur, Jodhpur State, British India
Died15 August 1994
Known forEnvironmental activism; Role as first Director of Project Tiger
AwardsPadma Shri

Why are tigers in the Chordata phylum?

Tigers belong in this group because all members are multicellular and are heterotrophs that depend directly or indirectly on other organisms for nourishment. Tigers along with other chordates have a notochord, three germ layers, a hallow nerve cord and a tail projecting beyond the anus at some point of development.

How many Bengal tigers left 2022?

There are fewer than 2,000 Bengal Tigers left in the wild. Hunting and human population growth are the main threats to Bengal Tigers. As human populations grow, people need more places to live. This reduces the amount of wild habitat for the tiger.

Where is Bengal Tiger found Class 7?

The Bengal tigers are found in Sundarbans. The delta area of Ganga and Brahmaputra river.

What are the 7 classes of phylum Chordata?

They are:
  • Cyclostomata.
  • Chondrichthyes.
  • Osteichthyes.
  • Amphibia.
  • Reptilia.
  • Aves.
  • Mammalia.

Is a tiger a chordate?

The white tiger (Panthera tigris) is a chordate. The tiger is also from the class Mammalia, order Carnivora, and family Felidae, meaning it is a meat-eating cat.

What are the 5 characteristics of chordates?

Chordates have five key characteristics:
  • The presence of a notochord.
  • A dorsal hollow nerve cord.
  • Pharyngeal gill slits that are paired.
  • Ventral heart.
  • Post-anal Tail.

What are the 5 classes of phylum?

The phylum chordata (animals with backbones) is divided into five common classes: fish, amphibians, reptiles, mammals and birds. Show examples of these groups and explain the characteristics that make one different from another.

What are the 8 classes of vertebrates?

They are as follows:
  • Class Aves.
  • Class Reptilia.
  • Class Agnatha.
  • Class Amphibia.
  • Class Mammalia.
  • Class Osteichthyes.
  • Class Chondrichthyes.

What are the 11 phylum in the animal kingdom?

Classification of Animal Kingdom – Porifera, Coelenterata, Platyhelminthes, Aschelminthes, Annelida, Arthropoda, Mollusca, Echinodermata, Chordata.]