What is the classification of camel?

Mammals are a group of vertebrate animals constituting the class Mammalia, characterized by the presence of mammary glands which in females produce milk for feeding their young, a neocortex, fur or hair, and three middle ear bones.


What are the 3 species of camels?

There are three surviving species of camel. The one-humped dromedary makes up 94% of the world’s camel population, and the two-humped Bactrian camel makes up 6%. The Wild Bactrian camel is a separate species and is now critically endangered.

What are the two species of camels?

Introduction. The dromedary, also known as one-humped camel or Arabian camel (Camelus dromedarius), and the Bactrian camel or two-humped camel or simply camel (Camelus bactrianus) are two distinctive and recognizable livestock species commonly found in Africa, the Middle East, and Asia.

How many species of camels are there?

There are two species of camel: the Bactrian camel (Camelus bactrianus) and the dromedary camel (Camelus dromedarius). About 90% of the world’s camels are dromedary camels, also known as the Arabian camel.

What are the two different kinds of camels Class 6?

There are two different kinds of camel. One, known as the Dromedary, has only a single hump; the other is called a Bactrian camel and has two humps. The humps help the animal to survive in the desert, by acting as storage containers.

What is the scientific name of camel?

camel, (genus Camelus), any of three species of large ruminating hoofed mammals of arid Africa and Asia known for their ability to go for long periods without drinking. The Arabian camel, or dromedary (Camelus dromedarius), has one back hump, while the domesticated Bactrian camel (C.

What is female camel called?

Male and Female Animal Names
8 feb 2018

What is the classification of a horse?

The horse (Equus ferus caballus) is a domesticated, one-toed, hoofed mammal. It belongs to the taxonomic family Equidae and is one of two extant subspecies of Equus ferus.

What is the classification for a giraffe?

Integrated Taxonomic Information System – Report
FamilyGiraffidae Gray, 1821 – giraffes
GenusGiraffa Brisson, 1762
SpeciesGiraffa camelopardalis (Linnaeus, 1758) – Giraffe, Northern Giraffe
Direct Children:
SubspeciesGiraffa camelopardalis antiquorum (Jardine, 1835) – Kordofan Giraffe

What is the taxonomic classification of dog?


Is camel a vertebrate?

Camels are classified in the phylum Chordata, subphylum Vertebrata, class Mammalia, order Artiodactyla, family Camelidae.

What color is giraffe blood?

blue Yes, its blood is blue.

What is a female giraffe called?

Giraffes are the world’s tallest land mammal. Males (called bulls) grow up to 5,3 m and weight 1.200 kg on average. Females (called cows) are smaller, they grow up to 4,3 m and weight 830 kg on average.

Do giraffes have knees?

To drink, giraffe first have to splay their forelegs and/or bend their knees, and only then can they lower their necks to reach the surface of the water.

Who has purple blood?

Purple Blood

Peanut worms, duck leeches, and bristle worms, all of which live in the ocean, use the protein hemerythrin to carry oxygen in the blood. Without oxygen, their blood is clear in color. When it carries oxygen, it turns purple.

Who has blue blood?

Can you guess what animals might have blue blood? Lobsters, crabs, pillbugs, shrimp, octopus, crayfish, scallops, barnacles, snails, small worms (except earthworms), clams, squid, slugs, mussels, horseshoe crabs, most spiders.