What are the classification of crops and their uses?

Plants are classified according to commercial purposes as food crops, industrial crops, and food adjuncts. Food crops: cereals, rice, wheat, maize, sorghum, ragi, pulses, legumes, fruits, vegetables, and nuts. Industrial crops: cotton, sugarcane, tobacco, groundnut, castor, gingelly, tapioca, etc.

What are the classification of crops according to life cycle?

Plants are classified by the number of growing seasons required to complete their life cycle. Generally, these groups are annuals, biennials, and perennials.

What are the 5 uses of crops?

Made up of a wide variety of plants grown for consumption or for profit, crops can be used for food, to feed livestock, for textiles and paper, for decoration, or for fuel.

What are the 2 ways of classifying crops?

Crops can be classified based on: Their uses. Their life span. Their morphology.

How many classification of crops are there?


There are three main classes of such crops. Crops may be grouped according to lifespan. Annual Crops: these are crops grown from seed to mature plant in a growing season or a year. That is they produced germinate, produce fruits and die within one year.

Why is classification of crops important?

The importance of classification  Helps in identification of related crop plants used for various purposes such as food, feed and fiber.  Essential for ordinary reference and avoiding confusion in identification.

What are the 7 classifications of plants?

The classification system groups, in order from largest to smallest, are kingdom, phylum or division, class, order, family, genus, and species (Figure 2).

What are the 4 classifications of plants?

Plants can also be classified as grasses, herbaceous plants, woody shrubs, and trees.

What are the 5 classification of plants?

The plant kingdom has been classified into five subgroups according to the above-mentioned criteria:
  • Thallophyta.
  • Bryophyta.
  • Pteridophyta.
  • Gymnosperms.
  • Angiosperms.

What classification is maize based on life cycle?

Monocotyledonous crops: These are crops that bear seeds that have only one seed leaf (cotyledon). Their leaves have parallel veins and they have a fibrous root system. Examples include maize, rice, millet, wheat, oil palm, grasses, etc.

What are the 6 types of crops?

Based on the utility crops are further divided into six types.
  • Food Crops. ADVERTISEMENT. …
  • Feed and Forage Crops. Among types of crops, forage crops are mainly grown for animal feed. …
  • Oilseed Crops. Oilseed crops are used to obtain oil by crushing their seeds. …
  • Fiber Crops.

What are the classification of crops based on economic important?

On an economic basis, crops are classified into grains, spices, fibrous crops, fodder, fruits, medicinal plants, roots, sesame and pulses, stimulants sugary crops. On the basis of specific use crops are classified as intermediate crops, cash crops, soil protective crops, and green fertilizers.

What are classification of plants?

While there are many ways to structure plant classification, one way is to group them into vascular and non-vascular plants, seed bearing and spore bearing, and angiosperms and gymnosperms. Plants can also be classified as grasses, herbaceous plants, woody shrubs, and trees.

What are the 7 major food crops?

Food staples are eaten regularly—even daily—and supply a major proportion of a person’s energy and nutritional needs. Cassava, maize, plantains, potatoes, rice, sorghum, soybeans, sweet potatoes, wheat, and yams are some of the leading food crops around the world.

What is classification in agriculture?

Agricultural Classification. Agricultural Classification. An agricultural classification, more commonly known as “Greenbelt” is not an exemption, but rather it is a classification of different types of agricultural property, such as pasture, cropland, and timberland.

What is the basis of classification of crops in our country?

Answer : crops are classified on the basis of the season in which they grow. For example: Kharif crops and Rabi crops.

What are three types of crops?

Based on seasons, the crops in India are divided into three types: Rabi, Kharif and Zaid.

Zaid Crops
  • Grown between March-June between Rabi and Kharif crop seasons.
  • Early maturing crops.
  • Example: Cucumber, Bitter Gourd, Pumpkin, Watermelon, Muskmelon, Moong Dal etc.

What are the 4 cash crops?

Most of the cash crops grown in the developing nations are sold to the developed nations for a better price. Well-known cash crops include coffee, tea, cocoa, cotton, and sugarcane.