What are the classifications of crops?

Plants are classified according to commercial purposes as food crops, industrial crops, and food adjuncts. Food crops: cereals, rice, wheat, maize, sorghum, ragi, pulses, legumes, fruits, vegetables, and nuts. Industrial crops: cotton, sugarcane, tobacco, groundnut, castor, gingelly, tapioca, etc.

What classification is maize based on life cycle?

Monocotyledonous crops: These are crops that bear seeds that have only one seed leaf (cotyledon). Their leaves have parallel veins and they have a fibrous root system. Examples include maize, rice, millet, wheat, oil palm, grasses, etc.

What are the 6 Classification of crops based on their use and explain?

By use, crops fall into six categories: food crops, feed crops, fiber crops, oil crops, ornamental crops, and industrial crops. Food crops, such as fruit and vegetables, are harvested for human consumption. Grains, such as corn, wheat, and rice, are the world’s most popular food crops.

What is the classification based on life cycle of mango?

CropClassification based on life cycle

What are the example of biennial crops?

Biennial plant/Representative species

How are perennial crops classified?

Perennial crops are also called permanent crops. As you keep on maintaining them, they keep on producing from year to year. Some are woody e.g shrubs and tree crops others are herbs e.g perennial grasses and legumes. Examples are pea, rubber, cocoa, oil palm, orange, mango, pawpaw (non-woody) cashew, guava, tea, etc.

What is the life cycle of beans?

A bean consists of two cotyledons, a radicle (develops into roots), a plumule (forms the shoot), and hypocotyl (develops as the stem), all enclosed in a seed coat. The process of sprouting begins with swelling of the bean, due to inhibition of water. As a result, the seed coat breaks, and the radicle emerges out.

What are the 7 classifications of plants?

The classification system groups, in order from largest to smallest, are kingdom, phylum or division, class, order, family, genus, and species (Figure 2).

What are the 4 classifications of plants?

Plants can also be classified as grasses, herbaceous plants, woody shrubs, and trees.

What is the life cycle of corn?

There are 4 distinct stages of growing corn: planting, germination, vegetative, and reproductive.

What’s the classification of corn?

Corn, Zea mays, belongs to the Poaceae family, and while eaten sometimes as a vegetable and sometimes as a grain, it is actually classified by botanists as a fruit, as are tomatoes, green peppers, cucumbers, zucchini and other squashes.

How are plants classified based on their lifespan?

Plants are classified by the number of growing seasons required to complete their life cycle. Generally, these groups are annuals, biennials, and perennials.

What kingdom does maize belong to?

Plants are predominantly photosynthetic eukaryotes of the kingdom Plantae. Historically, the plant kingdom encompassed all living things that were not animals, and included algae and fungi; however, all current definitions of Plantae exclude the fungi and some algae, as well as the prokaryotes.


What is the classification of beans?

Its botanical classification, along with other Phaseolus species, is as a member of the legume family Fabaceae. Like most members of this family, common beans acquire the nitrogen they require through an association with rhizobia, which are nitrogen-fixing bacteria.

What is the classification of a rice?

Data Quality Indicators:
SuperorderLilianae – monocots, monocotyledons, monocotylédones
FamilyPoaceae – grasses, graminées
GenusOryza L. – rice
SpeciesOryza sativa L. – rice

What is the classification of vegetables?

There are root vegetables, stem vegetables, edible tubers (underground stems), leaf and leafstalk vegetables, bulb vegetables, head or flower vegetables, fruits commonly considered vegetables by virtue of their use (cucumbers, eggplants, sweet corn), and seed vegetables (peas, beans).

What is the life cycle of a bean plant?

They are plants that complete their life cycle in two years. They germinate and grow roots and leaves in their first year. They flower, set seeds and die in their second year.

What is the botanical name of beans?

The scientific name of common bean is Phaseolus vulgaris L. (ITIS, 2014). The common bean is a member of the legume family, and its taxonomic hierarchy is: Order Fabales Family Fabaceae Genus Phaseolus L.

What are the 3 life cycles of a plant?

There are three different plant life cycles: haploid (1n), diploid (2n), and the more common haploid-diploid (1n-2n). A haploid organism consists of a multicellular structure of cells that contain only one set of chromosomes, whereas, a diploid organism’s multicellular stage contains two sets of chromosomes.

What are the 5 stages of plant life cycle?

They follow a cyclic process of starting a new life, growing, and then coming back to the starting stage (reproducing). There are the 5 stages of plant life cycle. The seed, germination, growth, reproduction, pollination, and seed spreading stages.