What is the classification of dengue virus?

Dengue virus (DENV) belongs to the family Flaviviridae, genus Flavivirus. It is a single-stranded positive-sense ribonucleic acid virus with 10,700 bases. The genus Flavivirus includes other arthropod borne viruses such as yellow fever virus, West Nile virus, Zika virus, tick-borne encephalitis virus.

What are the 3 categories according to level of severity of dengue?

Dengue infection was categorized into 3 severity levels: dengue infection (DF), dengue hemorrhagic fever (DHF), and dengue shock syndrome (DSS).

What is Type 3 dengue?

Over the past two decades, dengue virus serotype 3 (DENV-3) has caused unexpected epidemics of dengue hemorrhagic fever (DHF) in Sri Lanka, East Africa, and Latin America. We used a phylogenetic approach to evaluate the roles of virus evolution and transport in the emergence of these outbreaks.

WHO dengue classification 2009?

Introduction: In 2009, the new World Health Organization (WHO) dengue case classification – dengue/severe dengue (D/SD) – was introduced, replacing the 1997 WHO dengue case classification: dengue fever/dengue haemorrhagic fever/dengue shock syndrome (DF/DHF/DSS).

What is the 4 stages of dengue fever?

Dengue begins abruptly after a typical incubation period of 5–7 days, and the course follows 3 phases: febrile, critical, and convalescent.

What are the two types of dengue?

What are the different types of Dengue? Dengue is majorly classified into Mild Dengue Fever, Dengue Hemorrhagic fever, and Dengue Shock syndrome. Mild Dengue Fever is the most commonly occurring form of Dengue and is non-fatal.

WHO dengue guidelines latest?

Dengue should be suspected when a high fever (40°C/104°F) is accompanied by 2 of the following symptoms during the febrile phase (2-7 days): severe headache.

Does dengue have a vaccine?

Vaccines for Dengue Fever

The first recommended dengue vaccine (CYD-TDV) is a live recombinant tetravalent vaccine evaluated in phase 3 trials as a three-dose series (0-, 6-, 12-month schedule).

Who is DHF?

Dengue haemorrhagic fever (DHF) can be defined as an acute febrile illness caused by four serotypes of dengue virus and characterized clinically by a haemorrhagic diathesis and a tendency to develop a shock syndrome (dengue shock syndrome-DSS) that may be fatal.

Why is secondary dengue more severe?

Secondary infection by each serotype showed greater percentage of severe cases than the respective primary infection (Fig 2). This strengthens the evidence that antibody-dependent enhancement occurs during secondary infection, which causes more severe infections.

Why is that secondary infection with dengue virus more severe than primary dengue infection?

This is due to more severe immunological response in the body [1]. In our study we found that secondary dengue caused more severe disease features like shock, low platelets and higher grade fever.

Why is secondary dengue infection worse?

Once a person has been infected with one strain, their body will build up an immunity to only that strain of the virus. This means that a person can become infected with dengue fever another 3 times in their life. Moreover, each dengue fever reinfection is much more dangerous than the previous infection.

How can I check dengue report?

If an infection is suspected, you will get a blood test to check for the dengue virus. During a blood test, a health care professional will take a blood sample from a vein in your arm, using a small needle. After the needle is inserted, a small amount of blood will be collected into a test tube or vial.

What is the recovery phase of dengue?

The phase of dengue beyond 6th day of illness is called recovery phase (though a sizable number of patients take longer to recover). When the dengue virus infects a previously non-infected person, it is inferred as primary dengue infection [PDI].

Why does WBC decrease in dengue?

This study may suggest that leukopenia in dengue fever may be caused by virus-induced destruction or inhibition of myeloid progenitor cells. Thrombocytopenia may result from by destruction of peripheral platelet or bone marrow megakaryocytes by viruses which consequently reduce the platelet production.

What is Second Stage dengue?

Stage II:Critical stage.(~Day 5-7), at this stage when the body temperature drops, normally within 24 hours, the plasma (Fluid part of blood component) leaks and the blood pressure will drop.

What day is critical stage of dengue?

A patient enters what is called the critical phase normally about 3-7 days after illness onset. During the 24-48 hours of critical phase, a small portion of patients may manifest sudden deterioration of symptoms.

What happens on 7th day of dengue?

Dengue fever on the 7th day still needs vigilance

Specifically: Fever phase: This is the incubation period, the patient may have a high fever of 39-40 degrees Celsius, continuous fever, difficult to lower. Besides, the patient may have headache, eye socket pain, rash, vomiting, joint pain.