What are the different classification of tile?

Tiles are usually thin rectangular (or square) pieces of ceramic. Ceramic and porcelain tiles are economical and require less maintenance than natural stone tiles (like marble, slate and granite). Both ceramic and porcelain tiles are best suited for flooring.

What is the classification of ceramic tiles?

Ceramic tiles are classified by the ISO 13006 technical standard on the basis of water absorption: < 3% (Group I), 3–10% (Group II) and > 10% (Group III); groups I and II are divided in two subgroups each at the water absorption threshold of 0.5% and 6%, respectively (Fig. 1).

What are Class 3 tiles?

Grade 3 tiles are most commonly used in residential spaces, and are much more scratch resistant than Grade 1 or 2 tiles because they are harder. They are suitable for use in light to moderate traffic areas, including kitchens, laundries and also benchtops.

What is a class 5 tile?

Class 4: Moderate to Heavy Traffic: Ceramic tile suggested for flooring in residential and commercial heavy traffic areas such as kitchens, offices or stores. Class 5+: Heavy to Extra-Heavy Traffic: Class 5+ is good for exterior areas, shopping centers, airports, hotel lobbies and public walkways.

What is the characteristics of ceramic tiles?

Dirt Resistance – they don’t hold residues as easily as other flooring does. They do not need polishing or buffing to maintain their finish. Stain Resistance – this varies depending on its capacity to resist moisture. Glazed tiles as well as some unglazed tiles resist most types of stains and can be easily cleaned.

What is a Grade 4 tile?

Tiles with a PEI rating of 4 are suited for installations that are subjected to regular levels of foot traffic. Recommended for medium commercial and light institutional use, such as restaurants, hotels, hospital lobbies and corridors.

What is Level 4 tile?

Grade 4: This grade is a step up from grade 3 tile grades. It’s still a good choice for residential uses, such as tile floors and countertops, but it can also take the heavier abuse of light commercial foot traffic, such as you’d find in a doctor’s office.

What is 2nd grade tiles?

A 2nd grade may be performed from a distance of 10′. That’s it. So what this tells you is a tile that is grade standard would be more appropriate for areas that most homeowners are having tiled like their bathroom, backsplash or floor. In some commercial applications a 2nd grade may be perfectly appropriate.

What is ceramic tiles and its types?

Ceramic tiles:

They are made up of silica and clay which are made hard at high temperatures. There are two types of tiles designs in ceramic and they are Glazed tiles and Quarry Tiles. Glazed tiles come with a glaze coating, which is added after firing ceramic tiles to get in different colours and textures.

Which of the following is code that gives the ceramic tile classification and characteristics?

IS 13712
Which IS code gives classifications of ceramic tile? Explanation: IS 13712 gives details regarding definitions, classifications, characteristics and marking of ceramic tile.

What are the uses of ceramic tiles?

Ceramic tiles are a mixture of clays and other natural materials, such as sand, quartz and water. They are primarily used in houses, restaurants, offices, shops, and so on, as bathroom wall and kitchen floor surfaces. They are easy to fit, easy to clean, easy to maintain and are available at reasonable prices.

What are ceramics?

A ceramic is an inorganic non-metallic solid made up of either metal or non-metal compounds that have been shaped and then hardened by heating to high temperatures. In general, they are hard, corrosion-resistant and brittle. ‘Ceramic’ comes from the Greek word meaning ‘pottery’.

Is standard for tiles?

3.1 The definition of pressed ceramic tiles is given in IS 13712. 3.2 The surface of tiles and components belonging to this group can be smooth, profiled, wavy, decorated or finished in some other way. It can be unglazed (UGL), glossy, matt or semi-matt (GL). 3.3 Tiles may have spacer lugs.

What is L value tile?

The L value represents the amount of lightness. As the L value increases, the sample becomes lighter until it reaches white (L=100).

How many types of tiles are used in construction purpose?

There are two types in ceramic tiles, porcelain, and non-porcelain.

What is the maximum thickness of vitrified tiles?

Now, the thickness of tiles has increased to 12 mm. Some manufacturers produce fully vitrified tiles of even 16 mm thickness. Fully vitrified tiles of 16 mm thickness are obviously highly durable as well as costlier than other tiles of lesser thickness and are extremely strong.

What is difference between vitrified and ceramic tiles?

Major differences between ceramic tiles and vitrified tiles:

Ceramics are made using earthen clay while vitrified tiles contain a mixture of silica and clay. Ceramic tiles have a coarser texture than vitrified tiles, which are known for their glossy look.