What are the 3 types of hernias?

Read on to learn more about the three most common hernias.
  • Abdominal hernia. Abdominal hernias develop in the area above your groin and below your ribcage. …
  • Groin hernia. …
  • Incisional hernia.

What are the 6 types of hernias?

A hernia occurs when an organ or fatty tissue squeezes through a weak spot in a surrounding muscle or connective tissue called fascia. The most common types of hernia are inguinal (inner groin), incisional (resulting from an incision), femoral (outer groin), umbilical (belly button), and hiatal (upper stomach).

What are the four types of hernias?

There are several types of hernia that you can experience including, inguinal hernias, femoral hernias, umbilical hernias and hiatal hernias. If you have a hernia, it’s important to treat it quickly.

What classification is inguinal hernia?

Inguinal hernia may be classified according to Casten method into 3 stages: Stage 1: an indirect hernia with a normal internal ring. Stage 2: an indirect hernia with an enlarged or distorted internal ring. Stage 3: all direct or femoral hernias.

What is direct and indirect hernia?

There are two types of inguinal hernias: Direct: Develops over time due to straining and is caused by weakness in the abdominal muscles. Most common in adult males and rare in children. Indirect: Caused by a defect in the abdominal wall that will typically have been present since birth.

What is the main cause of hernia?

In general, a hernia starts with pressure on an organ or your intestines. A hernia forms when this pressure happens in the same area as a weakened muscle or tissue. Some people are born with weak muscles or tissue that isn’t fully developed. However, most people get hernias as their bodies age and their muscles weaken.

What is European hernia classification?

Four types were defined: Type I, small PH without cIH; Type II, small PH with cIH; Type III, large PH without cIH; and Type IV, large PH with cIH. In addition, the classification grid includes details about whether the hernia recurs after a previous PH repair or whether it is a primary PH.

Why is it called indirect hernia?

Because the sac emerges through the deep inguinal ring and passes through the inguinal canal, it is an indirect type and because it passes beside the spermatic cord we call it juxtacordal hernia. Because of the thick extraperitoneal fat layer over the sac, we think this hernia is acquired.

What is Nyhus classification?

One simple and widely used classification is the Nyhus classification which categories hernia defects by size, location, and type. Nyhus Classification System. Type I. An indirect hernia; normal size internal ring; typically in infants, children and small adults.

What is the most serious type of hernia?

An inguinal hernia forms when your intestines and the peritoneum push through the muscles and appear as a bulge under your skin. Inguinal hernias are dangerous because they tend to keep getting larger and your intestine can get trapped inside the bulge and lose its blood supply.

What type of hernia requires surgery?

Seek immediate medical attention if there are signs that your hernia has become stuck or strangulated, which can be life-threatening and usually requires emergency surgery. Signs of this condition include: A hernia bulge that is suddenly larger than before.

What type of hernia does not need surgery?

You may be able to wait to have surgery if: Your hernia goes away when you lie down, or you can push it back into your belly. This is called a reducible hernia. It’s small, and causes few — or no — symptoms (these may never need surgery)

Which surgeon is best for hernia?

What type of doctor treats hernias? Your primary care provider can diagnose a hernia. In most cases, your doctor will refer you to a general surgeon for a surgery evaluation.

When is a hernia an emergency?

Symptoms of a hernia in need of emergency treatment include: Severe pain, swelling or redness at the hernia site. Hernia bulge growing quickly. Nausea and/or vomiting.