What are the 4 classifications of law?

Law can be classified in different categories. They may be common law and equity, civil and criminal, public and private, substantive and procedural, written and unwritten.

What are the classifications of law in the legal system?

It provides for the classification of laws into various categories (civil law and criminal law, public law and private law, procedural law and substantive law, the law of tort and law of contract) and the differences and similarities between these categories.

What are the 2 classification of laws?

Two types of law – civil and cri. Criminal – state or federal prosecutors bring a case against a person charged with a major crime, called a felony. Civil – deals with lawsuits brought by individuals or the government against other individuals, organizations or companies.

What are the three major classifications of law?

Public law and private law

criminal law. Constitutional law.

What is the importance of classification of law?

Classification schemes allow us to discuss aspects or characteristics of the criminal law. Some classifications have legal significance, meaning that how a crime is classified may make a difference in how the case is processed or what type of punishment can be imposed.

What are the sources of law in the Philippines?

The main sources of Philippine law are: the Constitution – the fundamental and supreme law of the land. statutes – including Acts of Congress, municipal charters, municipal legislation, court rules, administrative rules and orders, legislative rules and presidential issuances.

What are the 5 types of laws?

In the United States, the law is derived from five sources: constitutional law, statutory law, treaties, administrative regulations, and the common law (which includes case law).

What are the 3 characteristics of law?

According to the Rule of Law, a law should be:
  • open and clear.
  • general in form.
  • universal in application.
  • knowable to all.

What is classification simple?

1 : the act of arranging into groups of similar things. 2 : an arrangement into groups of similar things a classification of plants. classification. noun.

What are the classification of law in Kenya?

Types and Classification of Law

National and International. Public and Private. Substantive and Procedural. Criminal and Civil.

What are the 3 characteristics of law?

According to the Rule of Law, a law should be:
  • open and clear.
  • general in form.
  • universal in application.
  • knowable to all.

What are the classifications of law in Uganda?

Applicable Law

[5] The laws applicable in Uganda are statutory law, common law, doctrines of equity and customary law.

What are the classification of law in Tanzania?

Tanzania’s sources of law are based on three main sources. These are; Constitution, Acts of Parliament/Local Law, Customary law and/or Religious law, Received Law, International Treaties and Conventions, By laws and/or Subsidiary Legislation and Orders/Circulars. This is the fundamental law of the land.

What are the characteristics of law in the Philippines?

Characteristics of Law. – (1) it is a rule of human conduct, (2) promulgated by competent authority, (3) obligatory, and (4) general observance. D.

What are the four properties of law?

The Four Universal Principles

The government as well as private actors are accountable under the law. The law is clear, publicized, and stable and is applied evenly. It ensures human rights as well as property, contract, and procedural rights.

What is the most important law in the Philippines?

Among the more notable laws in force today are the Civil Code (R.A. No. 386, as amended), the Revised Penal Code (Act No. 3815), Election Code (Batas Pambansa Bilang 88), The Family Code of the Philippines (Executive Order No.

What is legal definition of law in the Philippines?

In the specific sense (ley), law is is defined as a rule of conduct. These rules of conduct are just and obligatory. They are promulgated by legitimate authority (typically by the Legislature). They are of common observance and benefit.

What are the three most important features of the Philippine legal system?

Under the 1987 Constitution, the Philippine government follows a tripartite structure, namely the legislative, executive and judiciary, all three of which are the primary sources of law.

What is the first law in the Philippines?

the Philippine Organic Act of 1902
The first was the Philippine Organic Act of 1902, which provided for a Philippine Assembly composed of Filipino citizens. The second was the Philippine Autonomy Act of 1916, which included the first pledge of Philippine independence. These laws served as constitutions of the Philippines from 1902 to 1935.

What is RA 7610 in the Philippines?


What are the 7 constitutions of the Philippines?

  • 1987 Constitution.
  • 1986 Provisional “Freedom” Constitution.
  • 1973 Constitution.
  • 1943 Constitution. (Constitution During the Japanese Occupation)
  • 1935 Constitution.
  • 1899 Constitution.