How do you classify a polygon on the sides?

Classifying Polygons by the Number of Sides
  1. Triangle. 3 sides.
  2. Quadrilateral. 4 sides.
  3. Pentagon. 5 sides.
  4. Hexagon. 6 sides.
  5. Heptagon. 7 sides.
  6. Octagon. 8 sides.
  7. Nonagon. 9 sides.
  8. Decagon.

What are the 4 types of polygon classifications?

Polygons are classified into various types based on the number of sides and measures of the angles. They are: Regular Polygons.

  • Scalene Triangle: All sides are unequal.
  • Isosceles Triangle: Two sides are equal.
  • Equilateral Triangle: All the three sides are equal and all angles measures to 60 degrees.

What is the correct classification of 7 sided polygon?

In geometry, a heptagon or septagon is a seven-sided polygon or 7-gon.

What are the three classifications of polygons?

Concave polygons (at least one of the interior angles is greater than 180°) Convex polygons (all the interior angles are less than 180° Regular polygons (all the sides and angles measure the same) Irregular polygons (all the sides and angles measure different)

What are the 9 types of polygon?

A Polygon is classified based on its sides like a triangle, quadrilateral, pentagon, hexagon, heptagon, octagon, nonagon, and decagon according as it contains (3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9) and (10) sides, respectively. In this article, the various types of polygons with definition, their components etc., are discussed.

What type of polygon has 12 sides?

A dodecagon is a 12-sided polygon. Several special types of dodecagons are illustrated above. In particular, a dodecagon with vertices equally spaced around a circle and with all sides the same length is a regular polygon known as a regular dodecagon.

What type of polygon has 4 sides?

Definition: A quadrilateral is a polygon with 4 sides. A diagonal of a quadrilat- eral is a line segment whose end-points are opposite vertices of the quadrilateral. In picture below, ABCD is a quadrilateral, AC, BD are the two diagonals.

How many types of polygon are?

There are 4 types of Polygon : Regular Polygon: If all the sides and interior angles of the polygon are equal or if a polygon is equiangular and equilateral, then the polygon will be known as a regular polygon. Example square, rhombus, equilateral triangle, etc.

Are you able to classify polygons by their sides and angles?

Polygons are also classified by how many sides (or angles) they have.

What does it mean by classify each polygon?

A polygon is a closed figure made up of lines and angles. A polygon is classified by its number of sides.

What’s a four sided shape called?

A quadrilateral is a 4 sided closed figure. These figures are quadrilaterals: A shape with four sides. The shape has one set of parallel sides and does not have any right angles.

Is a 5 sided polygon concave or convex?

A planar polygon is convex if it contains all the line segments connecting any pair of its points. Thus, for example, a regular pentagon is convex (left figure), while an indented pentagon is not (right figure).

How do you classify a concave and convex polygon?

A convex polygon has all its interior angles less than 180 degrees whereas a concave polygon has at least one interior angle more than 180 degrees.

What is a 6 sided polygon called?

In geometry, a hexagon can be defined as a closed two-dimensional polygon with six sides. Hexagon has 6 vertices and 6 angles also. Hexa means six and gonia means angles.

What’s a 3 sided shape called?

Triangles. A triangle has 3 sides and 3 corners. A corner is where two lines meet or join. There are different kinds of triangles.

What is a 5 sided polygon called?

A pentagon is a geometrical shape, which has five sides and five angles. Here, “Penta” denotes five and “gon” denotes angle. The pentagon is one of the types of polygons. The sum of all the interior angles for a regular pentagon is 540 degrees.

What is a 8 sided polygon called?

regular octagon shape
A regular octagon shape has eight equal sides and eight equal angles. All the sides are of equal length, and all the angles are of equal measure. The sum of the interior angles is 1080°, and the sum of the exterior angles is 360°. In a regular octagon, the interior angle at each vertex is 135°.

What is a 10 sided polygon called?

A decagon is a closed shape with ten sides and ten angles.