What are different types of protected areas?

India has the following kinds of protected areas, in the sense of the word designated by IUCN:
  • National parks.
  • Wildlife sanctuaries.
  • Biosphere reserves.
  • Reserved and protected forests.
  • Conservation reserves and community reserves.
  • Private protected areas.
  • Conservation areas.

What are the four categories of protected areas?

There are 4 categories of the Protected Areas viz, National Parks, Sanctuaries, Conservation Reserves and Community Reserves.

What are the 8 categories of protected area in the Philippines?

PAs are categorized as: (a) Natural Park; (b) Natural Monument; (c) National Park; (d) Wildlife Sanctuary; (e) Protected Landscape/Seascape; (f) Resource Reserve; (g) Natural Biotic Area; (h) Marine Reserve; (i) Managed Resource Protected Area; (j) Game Refuge and Bird/Fish Sanctuary; (k) Watershed Forest Reserve; (l) …

How many types of protected areas are there give examples?

Protected areas of India include National parks, Wildlife sanctuaries, biosphere reserves, reserved and protected forests, conservation and community reserves, communal forests, private protected areas and conservation areas.

How many protected areas are there?

India has a network of 990 Protected Areas including 106 National Parks, 565 Wildlife Sanctuaries, 100 Conservation Reserves and 219 Community Reserves covering a total of 1,73,306.83 km2 of geographical area of the country which is approximately 5.27%.

What are the features of protected areas?

A Protected Area is a clearly defined geographical space, recognized, dedicated and managed through legal or other effective means, to achieve the long-term conservation of nature with associated ecosystem services and cultural values.

What is meant by protected area?

The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), defines a protected area as: a clearly defined geographical space, recognised, dedicated and managed, through legal or other effective means, to achieve the long term conservation of nature.

What are protected areas explain any two of them?

protected area network includes national parks, wildlife sanctuaries , and biosphere reserves etc. sacred groves or sacred forests are traditional protected areas which serve as a refuge for a number of rare and endangered taxa. <br> 1. National park.

What are the main important benefits of protected area?

Effectively managed protected areas are a critical tool for safeguarding biodiversity, maintaining ecosystem balance, preserving important habitats, building resilience to climate change, providing global food security, maintaining water quality, conserving natural resources, driving economic success, curbing the …

What are protected areas Class 8?

Wildlife sanctuaries, National parks and Biosphere are the three types of protected area which have been earmarked for the conservation of forest and wildlife.

How are protected areas categorized by the World conservation Union?

In 1994, the IUCN developed standardized guidelines for protected areas designation, based on six categories (Ia, Ib, II, III, IV, V, and VI) that were intended to represent levels of legislative or regulatory protection, and the nature and intensity of permissible land uses (IUCN, 1994, Table 1).

How many protected areas are there in Tanzania?

Tanzania includes parts of eight transboundary conservation areas, namely Amboseli-Kilimanjaro-Longido, Kagera TFCA, Mnazi Bay- Quirimbas TFCA, Niassa-Selous TFCA, Sango Bay-Minziro, Serengeti-Mara, Tanga Marine Reserves System and Tanga Coelacanth Marine Park and Diani Chale and Kisitee-Mpunguti and the Western Indian …

How many protected areas are there in Nepal?

In recognition of the magnitude of biodiversity the Government of Nepal has established a network of 20 protected areas since 1973, consisting of ten national parks, three wildlife reserves, six conservation areas and one hunting reserve.

What are 3 criteria used to design and manage a protected area?

The most important factors to be used in identifying protected areas are significance, representativeness and feasibility.