What is kidney classification?

GFR stagesGFR (mL/min/1.73 m2)Terms
G1≥90Normal or high
G260 to 89Mildly decreased
G3a45 to 59Mildly to moderately decreased
G3b30 to 44Moderately to severely decreased

What is the classification of renal failure?

Chronic Renal Failure (CRF)

Grade 1: GFR greater than 90. Grade 2: 60 to 89. Grade 3a: 45 to 59. Grade 3b: 30 to 44.

What are the renal function tests?

Clinically, the most practical tests to assess renal function is to get an estimate of the glomerular filtration rate (GFR) and to check for proteinuria (albuminuria). The best overall indicator of the glomerular function is the glomerular filtration rate (GFR).

What are the types of renal clearance test?

Types of Kidney Tests
  • Creatinine Clearance. A creatinine clearance test measures how well the kidneys are working. …
  • Glomerular Filtration Rate (GFR) The glomerular filtration rate test looks at how well the kidneys are working. …
  • Renal Function Test. …
  • Urinalysis.

What are the 5 stages of kidney failure?

Five stages of chronic kidney disease
  • Stage 1 with normal or high GFR (GFR > 90 mL/min)
  • Stage 2 Mild CKD (GFR = 60-89 mL/min)
  • Stage 3A Moderate CKD (GFR = 45-59 mL/min)
  • Stage 3B Moderate CKD (GFR = 30-44 mL/min)
  • Stage 4 Severe CKD (GFR = 15-29 mL/min)
  • Stage 5 End Stage CKD (GFR <15 mL/min)

What is stage 3 renal disease?

What is Stage 3 CKD? In Stage 3 CKD, your kidneys have mild to moderate damage, and they are less able to filter waste and fluid out of your blood. This waste can build up in your body and begin to harm other areas, such as to cause high blood pressure, anemia and problems with your bones.

What are the 8 functions of the kidney?

How Your Kidneys Work
  • remove waste products from the body.
  • remove drugs from the body.
  • balance the body’s fluids.
  • release hormones that regulate blood pressure.
  • produce an active form of vitamin D that promotes strong, healthy bones.
  • control the production of red blood cells.

What is a normal renal function?

The kidneys remove wastes and excess water from the blood. They also control the balance of sodium, potassium, phosphorus, calcium and other chemicals in the body. Filtering process is done in the kidney through structures called nephrons.

How GFR is calculated?

An estimate of the normal value for your GFR can be obtained by using the equation: GFR = 140 – [your age]. For example, if you are a fit, healthy 30 yr old, your GFR should be approximately 110mls/min. Automatic calculators are now available that can directly calculate the GFR.

What is another name for renal failure?

Kidney failure, also called end-stage renal disease (ESRD) or end-stage kidney disease (ESKD), is the fifth and last stage of chronic kidney disease (CKD). Kidney failure cannot be reversed and is life-threatening if left untreated. However, dialysis or a kidney transplant can help you live for many more years.

What is Grade 2 Medical renal disease?

In Stage 2 CKD, the damage to your kidneys is still mild, and you have an eGFR between 60 and 89. Your kidneys are still working well, but at this stage, you will have signs of kidney damage. A common sign of kidney damage is protein in your urine (i.e., your pee).

What classifies as CKD?

CKD is defined as kidney damage or glomerular filtration rate (GFR) <60 mL/min/1.73 m2 for 3 months or more, irrespective of cause. Kidney damage in many kidney diseases can be ascertained by the presence of albuminuria, defined as albumin-to-creatinine ratio >30 mg/g in two of three spot urine specimens.

What classifies as chronic kidney disease?

Chronic kidney disease (CKD) means your kidneys are damaged and can’t filter blood the way they should. The disease is called “chronic” because the damage to your kidneys happens slowly over a long period of time. This damage can cause wastes to build up in your body.

What is Stage 4 kidney disease mean?

Stage 4 CKD means that your kidneys are moderately or severely damaged and are not working as well as they should to filter waste from your blood. Waste products may build up in your blood and cause other health problems, such as: High blood pressure. Anemia (not enough red blood cells in your body) Bone disease.

How many grades of kidney disease are there?

Chronic kidney disease (CKD) is divided into five stages.

What is the creatinine level for stage 2 kidney disease?

An abnormally high creatinine level means your kidneys aren’t functioning at an optimal level. EGFR readings that are 90 or higher occur in stage 1 CKD, where there’s extremely mild kidney damage. Kidney failure is seen in readings of 15 or below. With stage 2, your eGFR reading will fall between 60 and 89.

What are the 3 early warning signs of kidney disease?

3 Warning Signs That You May Be Experiencing Kidney Failure
  • Dizziness and Fatigue. One of the first possible signs of weakening kidneys is the experience of overall weakness in yourself and your overall health. …
  • Swelling (Edema) …
  • Changes in urination.

How long can a 70 year old live with Stage 4 kidney disease?

Consider the life expectancy of 70-year old men and women. For a 70-year old man, his life expectancy for the first four stages of kidney disease would be 9 years, 8 years, 6 years, and 4 years respectively. For a 70-year-old woman, life expectancy is 11 years, 8 years, and 4 years.

Is stage 2 kidney disease curable?

People with stage 2 kidney disease are still considered to have only mild loss of kidney function. While there is no cure for kidney disease and kidney damage can’t be reversed, taking steps now to closely monitor your health and live a healthier lifestyle can slow the progression of CKD.

What are the symptoms of stage 1 kidney disease?

Signs and symptoms of Stage 1 CKD include:
  • High blood pressure.
  • Swelling in your hands or feet.
  • Urinary tract infections.
  • Protein in your urine.
  • Blood in your urine (also called hematuria)
  • Kidney damage that shows up in an ultrasound, CT scan, MRI, or kidney biopsy.