What are the 7 classification of earthworm?

The seven categories of biological taxonomy are Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus and Species. All living organisms belong to specific groups within these categories, most of which have already been established, and earthworms are no exception.

What is the classify of earthworm?

An earthworm is a terrestrial invertebrate that belongs to the phylum Annelida.

What is the characteristic and classification of worm?

Characteristics. All worms are bilaterally symmetrical, meaning that the two sides of their bodies are identical. They lack scales and true limbs, though they may have appendages such as fins and bristles. Many worms have sense organs to detect chemical changes in their environments, and some have light-sensing organs.

Why are earthworms classified as annelids?

Earthworms belong to a class of terrestrial annelids. Hence, earthworms share the characteristics of a typical annelid such as rounded body with segments, presence of a body cavity, complete digestive system, closed circulatory system, and hermaphroditic reproduction.

How many types of earthworms are there?

Earthworm/Lower classifications

What are the three types of earthworms?

These three main types of earthworms are epigeic worms, which are also known as surface dwellers because they live above soil level, endogeic worms, which live below ground, and anecic worms, which live below soil level but explore at and above soil level to find sources of food.

What is the importance of earthworm?

They are major decomposers of dead and decomposing organic matter, and derive their nutrition from the bacteria and fungi that grow upon these materials. They fragment organic matter and make major contributions to recycling the nutrients it contains.

What are the 3 types of worms?

Many very different and unrelated types of animals that are generally long and soft are called worms. Of these, three common types of worms are: the flatworm, the roundworm, and the segmented worm.

What is the scientific name for earthworms?

What is the classification of Lumbricus terrestris?

Are earthworms primary consumers?

This level is made up of herbivores: bacteria, fungi, actinomycetes, nematodes, mites, snails, slugs, earthworms, millipedes, sowbugs and worms. Note that some types of mites are carnivores.

Are earthworms omnivorous?

Most earthworms are omnivores, feeding on both decaying and live plant matter, fungi, bacteria, and microscopic animals. For most species, decomposing plant matter is the primary food source, although most of their nutrient needs are supplied by microorganisms ingested at the same time.

What is the food of earthworm?

Earthworms eat soil! Their nutrition comes from things in soil, such as decaying roots and leaves. Animal manures are an important food source for earthworms. They eat living organisms such as nematodes, protozoans, rotifers, bacteria, fungi in soil.

Which of the three domains would an earthworm be classified under?

In above figure, you can see the separation of the three domains of life. Earthworms fit into the Kindgom Animalia, as stated above. You can see from the image that in terms of this tree that Animalia is most closely related to the Kingdom Fungi and Kingdom Plantae.

What is the habitat of a earthworm?

What kind of habitat do they need? Earthworms and their relatives live anywhere there is moist soil and dead plant material. Earthworms are most abundant in rainy forest areas, but can be found in many habitats on land and in freshwater. All earthworm species need moist soil conditions to survive.

Do earthworms have teeth?

Earthworms do not have any eyes, ears, teeth or lungs. Don’t be fooled though, they make up for it with the interesting aspects they do have. Like five hearts that squeeze two blood vessels to push blood throughout their little bodies.

What is the reproduction of earthworm?

Although earthworms are hermaphrodites, most need a mate to reproduce. During mating, two worms line up inverted from each other so sperm can be exchanged. The earthworms each have two male openings and two sperm receptacles, which take in the sperm from another mate.