What is the tiger sharks classification?

Chondrichthyes is a class that contains the cartilaginous fishes that have skeletons primarily composed of cartilage. They can be contrasted with the Osteichthyes or bony fishes, which have skeletons primarily composed of bone tissue.


How many classifications of sharks are there?

How many types of sharks are there? There are hundreds of species of sharks, and they all fit into eight distinct orders: Carcharhiniformes, Heterodontiformes, Hexanchiformes, Lamniformes, Orectolobiformes, Pristiophoriformes, Squaliformes, and Squatiniformes.

What family is a tiger shark in?

Requiem sharks are sharks of the family Carcharhinidae in the order Carcharhiniformes. They are migratory, live-bearing sharks of warm seas and include such species as the tiger shark, bull shark, lemon …


What are tiger sharks characteristics?

It has a broad, flat head with a snout shorter than the width of the mouth, long labial furrows, and a slender body. The caudal fin is long and pointed with reinforcing ridges and its teeth have curved cusps with serrated edges and a deep notch on the outer margin.

Why are sharks classified as fish?

Sharks are fish. They live in water, and use their gills to filter oxygen from the water. Sharks are a special type of fish known because their body is made out of cartilage instead of bones like other fish.

What are 5 characteristics of a shark?

Most sharks have a muscular, asymmetrical, upturned tail; pointed fins; a pointed snout; and sharp triangular teeth. Sharks have no swim bladder and must swim perpetually to keep from sinking. Most species bear living young.

Why is it called a tiger shark?

Tiger Shark. Tiger sharks are named for their distinctive color pattern. The body is gray with dark gray vertical bars or spots on the flanks with a pale or white underside. The markings are especially distinctive in juveniles but diminish with age.

How many teeth does a tiger shark have?

48 teeth
How Many Teeth Do Tiger Sharks Have? Tiger sharks have about 48 teeth which allow them to cut and grip onto prey.

What are the 7 classifications of a shark?

  • Kingdom: Animalia.
  • Phylum: Chordata.
  • Class: Chrondrichthyes.
  • Order: Squatiniformes.
  • Family: Squatinidae.
  • Genus: Squatina.
  • Species: Squatina squatina (Angelshark)

Are there 500 types of sharks?

Introduction. There are more than 500 species of sharks swimming in the world’s ocean. Yet when most people think of these cartilaginous fish, a single image comes to mind: a large, sharp-toothed and scary beast.

What are the 7 levels of classification for a great white shark?

Data Quality Indicators:
PhylumChordata – cordés, cordado, chordates
SubphylumVertebrata – vertebrado, vertébrés, vertebrates
ClassChondrichthyes – cartilaginous fishes, rays, sharks, condrictes, peixe cartilaginoso, tubarão, poissons cartilagineux, raies, requins

What is the rarest shark?

The speartooth shark (Glyphis glyphis) is one of the rarest shark species on earth, found only in tropical rivers in New Guinea and northern Australia. The speartooth shark is not targeted by fisheries for its meat or fins, but it may be accidentally caught in fishing nets as by-catch.

What is the largest shark?

The whale shark is a slow-moving, filter-feeding carpet shark and the largest known extant fish species. The largest confirmed individual had a length of 18.8 m. The whale shark holds many records for size in the animal kingdom, most notably being by far the largest living nonmammalian vertebrate.


What is the smallest shark?

dwarf lantern shark
The smallest shark, a dwarf lantern shark (Etmopterus perryi) is smaller than a human hand. It’s rarely seen and little is known about it, having only been observed a few times off the northern tip of South America at depths between 283–439 meters (928–1,440 feet).

What is the fastest shark?

The shortfin mako shark, also known as the blue pointer or bonito shark, is a large mackerel shark. It is commonly referred to as the mako shark, as is the longfin mako shark. The shortfin mako can reach a size of 4 m in length and weigh 570 kg. The species is classified as Endangered by the IUCN.


What is the strongest shark?

With its 300 sharp teeth, the great white has the most powerful bite in the animal world – 18,000 Newtons (1,835 kilograms force).

What is the second largest shark?

basking shark
The second biggest shark in the world is the basking shark

Like whale sharks, basking sharks are filter-feeders. While they don’t get quite as large as whale sharks, the largest one ever reliably measured was 12.27 metres or just over 40 feet long.

Is megalodon still alive?

Internet rumors persist that modern-day megalodons exist – that they still swim around in today’s oceans. But that’s not true. Megalodons are extinct. They died out about 3.5 million years ago.

What is the most aggressive shark?

Human Encounters. Because of these characteristics, many experts consider bull sharks to be the most dangerous sharks in the world. Historically, they are joined by their more famous cousins, great whites and tiger sharks, as the three species most likely to attack humans.