What are the 2 classification of vitamin?

Vitamins are grouped into two categories:
  • Fat-soluble vitamins are stored in the body’s liver, fatty tissue, and muscles. The four fat-soluble vitamins are vitamins A, D, E, and K. …
  • Water-soluble vitamins are not stored in the body. The nine water-soluble vitamins are vitamin C and all the B vitamins.

What is the classification of fat-soluble vitamins?

Vitamins A, D, E, and K are called the fat-soluble vitamins, because they are soluble in organic solvents and are absorbed and transported in a manner similar to that of fats.

What are the main characteristics of water-soluble vitamins?

Water-soluble vitamins are those that are dissolved in water and readily absorbed into tissues for immediate use. Because they are not stored in the body, they need to be replenished regularly in the diet. Any excess of water-soluble vitamins is quickly excreted in urine and will rarely accumulate to toxic levels.

What is the largest group of water soluble vitamins?

B-complex group
Answer and Explanation: There are two types of water-soluble vitamins: Vitamin C and the B vitamins (also known as the B-complex group). The largest group of water soluble… See full answer below.

What is vitamin and explain classification?

Vitamins are classified on the basis of their solubility in water or fat. Fat-Soluble Vitamins are soluble in fat and oils but are completely insoluble in water. Examples of these vitamins are Vitamins A, D, E and K. These are stored in the liver and fat-storing adipose tissues.

What are water soluble vitamins definition?

SOL-yoo-bul VY-tuh-min) A vitamin that can dissolve in water. Vitamins are nutrients that the body needs in small amounts to stay healthy and work the way it should. Water-soluble vitamins are carried to the body’s tissues but are not stored in the body.

What’s the definition of water soluble?

adjective. capable of dissolving in water.

What are the types of vitamin?

There are 13 essential vitamins — vitamins A, C, D, E, K, and the B vitamins (thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, pantothenic acid, biotin, B6, B12, and folate). Vitamins have different jobs to help keep the body working properly.

How many classes of vitamins are there?

The two classes of vitamins are fat soluble vitamins and water soluble vitamins. Vitamins A, D, E, and K come from soluble vitamins. Vitamins B1, B2, B3, B6, B12, pantothenic acid, folate, biotin, and C are water soluble vitamins.

What are the two categories of minerals?

There are two kinds of minerals: macrominerals and trace minerals. You need larger amounts of macrominerals. They include calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, sodium, potassium, chloride and sulfur. You only need small amounts of trace minerals.

How are vitamins and minerals classified?

Vitamins and minerals are micronutrients required by the body to carry out a range of normal functions. However, these micronutrients are not produced in our bodies and must be derived from the food we eat. Vitamins are organic substances that are generally classified as either fat soluble or water soluble.

Why vitamins are named as ABC and K?

The letters (A, B, C and so on) were assigned to the vitamins in the order of their discovery. The one exception was vitamin K which was assigned its “K” from “Koagulation” by the Danish researcher Henrik Dam. Vitamin A: Retinol.

What are the 3 most important vitamins?

According to Nutritionists, These Are the 7 Ingredients Your Multivitamin Should Have
  1. Vitamin D. Vitamin D helps our bodies absorb calcium, which is important for bone health. …
  2. Magnesium. Magnesium is an essential nutrient, which means that we must get it from food or supplements. …
  3. Calcium. …
  4. Zinc. …
  5. Iron. …
  6. Folate. …
  7. Vitamin B-12.