What is a by law in law?

Byelaws are local laws made by a local council under an enabling power contained in a public general act or a local act requiring something to be done – or not done – in a specified area. They are accompanied by some sanction or penalty for their non-observance.

What are types of bylaw?

Common by-laws include vehicle parking and stopping regulations, animal control, building and construction, licensing, noise, zoning and business regulation, and management of public recreation areas.

What are bylaws in local government?

Bylaws are laws that formalize rules made by a council or board. Local governments may use bylaws for various purposes, especially to regulate, prohibit or impose requirements. Bylaws are laws passed by municipal councils and regional district boards to exercise their statutory authority.

Who can enforce a bylaw?

Any officer of the council can enforce the byelaws, as can a police officer if they witness someone breaking a byelaw or are informed by the public or a council officer of an offence.

What should bylaws include?

Bylaws generally define things like the group’s official name, purpose, requirements for membership, officers’ titles and responsibilities, how offices are to be assigned, how meetings should be conducted, and how often meetings will be held.

What are the contents of bylaws?

The company bylaws must contain the following parts:
  • The Board of Directors. …
  • Statement of the company’s purpose. …
  • Management structure. …
  • Information about the company. …
  • Shareholder and board meetings. …
  • Call for other meetings. …
  • Contract and loan approvals.

What are bylaws of a society?

Bye-laws are the guidelines, which have provisions relating to the affairs of the society and its functioning. Bye-laws are required to ensure proper maintenance and resolve the residents’ issues in a timely and effective manner.

What are the municipality bylaws?

By-laws are laws that are adopted by the council of a municipality to regulate the affairs and the services within the jurisdiction of the municipality.

What are corporate bylaws?

A corporation’s bylaws, also called company bylaws or just bylaws, are a legal document setting forth key rules and regulations governing the corporation’s day-to-day operations. By articulating the procedures management must follow, these rules help ensure a corporation runs smoothly, efficiently, and consistently.

What is meant by a bye law?

/ˈbaɪ lɔː/ (also by-law) ​(British English) a law that is made by a local authority and that applies only to that area.

How does a municipality draft a by-law?

Laws made by municipalities are called by-laws. Only a member or committee of a municipal council may introduce a draft by-law in the council. Before a by-law is passed, it must be published for public comment, and all members of the municipal council must have a reasonable amount of time to consider the by-law.

What are the 5 types of local government?

The charter also details the form of municipal government, of which there are historically five forms: council-manager, mayor-council, commission, town meeting and representative town meeting.

What are the five 5 constitutional Objects of the municipality?

(1) The objects of local government are— (a) to provide democratic and accountable government for local communities; (b) to ensure the provision of services to communities in a sustainable manner; (c) to promote social and economic development; (d) to promote a safe and healthy environment; and (e) to encourage the …

How are bylaws passed in South Africa?

It is debated in the relevant committees of Parliament and amended if necessary. If the Bill passes through both the NA and the NCOP, it goes to the President for assent (signed into law). Once it is signed by the President, it becomes an Act of Parliament and a law of the land.

What is a by law in South Africa?

What are by-laws? By-laws are laws managed by municipalities. The Constitution of South Africa gives municipalities the power to pass their own legislation, in the form of by-laws, for particular subject areas. These by-laws hold the same power and force as other national and provincial legislation.

What are the 4 types of local government?

Types of Local Governments
  • Municipalities.
  • Regional Municipalities.
  • Rural Communities (RC)
  • Local Service Districts (LSD)

What are the 5 sources of South African law?


As South African Law has many sources ie. Common law, legislation or statutes, judicial precedent (court decisions), indigenous law, custom and legal academic writings, it is of practical importance for lawyers to be aware of these different sources which provide the key to the content of the law.

What are the 5 types of legislation?

Types of Legislation
  • Primary Legislation. Primary legislation outlines general principles and provides powers for further regulation. …
  • Secondary Legislation. Secondary legislation comprises detailed provisions covering a specific subject area. …
  • Regional and Local Legislation. …
  • Constitutional Protection of Animals.

How do you create a law?

Steps in Making a Law

A bill can be introduced in either chamber of Congress by a senator or representative who sponsors it. Once a bill is introduced, it is assigned to a committee whose members will research, discuss, and make changes to the bill. The bill is then put before that chamber to be voted on.

What are the 8 sources of law?

The primary sources of law in the United States are the United States Constitution, state constitutions, federal and state statutes, common law, case law, and administrative law.

Which law is the highest law in South Africa?

The Constitution
The Constitution is the supreme law

South Africa is a constitutional democracy. This means the Constitution is the highest law of the land. Parliament cannot pass a law which goes against the Constitution. No person, not even the President, can go against it.

What are the four main sources of law?

The four sources of federal and state law are:

constitutions; statutes and ordinances; rules and regulations; and. case law.

What are the 3 types of law?

  • Criminal Law.
  • Civil Law.
  • Administrative Law.