What are the 12 personality archetypes?

There are twelve brand archetypes: The Innocent, Everyman, Hero, Outlaw, Explorer, Creator, Ruler, Magician, Lover, Caregiver, Jester, and Sage.

What is an example of archetypal?

The most famous example of an archetype is the Hero. Hero stories have certain elements in common – heroes generally start out in ordinary circumstances, are “called to adventure,” and in the end must confront their darkest fear in a conflict that deeply transforms the hero.

What are the 7 character archetypes?

The Archetypes
  • Hero. A hero willingly sacrifices their needs for others. …
  • Mentor. A teacher or trainer who aids the hero by teaching and protecting them. …
  • Threshold Guardian. A character who serves to keep the unworthy from entering. …
  • Herald. …
  • Shadow. …
  • Trickster. …
  • Shapeshifter.

What is an archetypal hero character?

Archetypes have similar characteristics throughout literature and make unpredictable characters easier to understand. One archetype is the hero – defined as a person who is admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities.

What are archetypal stories?

Archetypal stories are the deep level of our personal life story amplified through imagination, leading us to discover the universal drama that is the sum of our everyday attitudes, behaviors, and patterns. “StoryWell is the symbol of that mysterious well of human potential, where our possibilities live.”

How do archetypal characters help readers and writers?

Universal symbols, themes, and archetypes help readers analyze and understand a story.

How is Harry Potter an archetypal hero?

Starting from Harry Potter life is a hero to the search, task, journey, initiation, ritual, The falls, death and rebirth, the battle between good and evil and the unhealable wound. Strength and virtue enabled him to rid the world of evil magic, thus strengthening the status of archetypal hero.

What are the 6 archetypes?

Pearson clearly defines six heroic archetypes- the Innocent, the Orphan, the Wanderer, the Warrior, the Altruist, and the Magician– and shows how we can use these powerful guides to discover our own hidden gifts, solve difficult problems, and transform our lives with rich sources of inner strength.

Is Jesus an archetype?

We can believe in Jesus as the historical expression of the ultimate archetype, the divine hero. We can believe that his embodiment of that archetype is a paradigm for our own humanity. We can believe that Christianity is a way of living, rather than a way of believing.

Is Good vs evil an archetype?

The archetype good vs. evil presents two opposing forces, one good and one evil, but often these forces blend together. Although good is clearly defined as good, and evil is defined as evil, their representations in literature are not as explicitly given.

What archetype is Hagrid?

According to the archetypal hero story, Hagrid can be seen as a herald. The herald or announcer of the adventure is often “dark or terrifying, judged evil by the world; yet if one could follow, the way would be opened through the walls of day into dark where the jewels glow” (Campbell 53).

Is Harry Potter archetypal?

Harry Potter may be described as the archetypal hero because of the heroic Page 6 journey he has experienced; nevertheless, it is the traits that he possesses that separate him from the archetype of hero.

How archetypes influence your personality?

How do archetypes influence our behavior? Jung described archetypes as “the forms which the instincts assume.” Instincts are like biological urges. When we trigger an instinct, it activates a pattern of behavior like running a software program on your computer.

What are the two most common forms of archetype?

Here’s a list of some of the most commonly found archetypes in literature.
  • The Hero. Summary: The hero is always the protagonist (though the protagonist is not always a hero). …
  • The Mentor. Summary: The mentor is a common archetype in literature. …
  • The Everyman. …
  • The Innocent. …
  • The Villain.

How do you identify archetypes?

In a literary context, characters (and sometimes images or themes) that symbolically embody universal meanings and basic human experiences, independent of time or place, are considered archetypes. For example, one of the most common literary archetypes is the Hero.

What are female archetypes?

There are four main female archetypes that we cycle through during our lives: Maiden, Mother, Wild Woman & Wise Woman. Sometimes Wild Woman is missed off this list, and the Maiden, Mother and Crone (also known as the Triple Goddess) are said to represent the three main stages of a woman’s life.

What is an archetypal image?

Archetypal images, as universal patterns or motifs which come from the collective unconscious, are the basic content of religions, mythologies, legends and fairy tales. An archetypal content expresses itself, first and foremost, in metaphors.

What are the 4 archetypes?

Carl Jung identified four main archetypes—the persona, the shadow, the anima or animus and the self.

What are the 8 character archetypes?

Eight Essential Character Archetypes
  • The Hero. Often the easiest to identify, the Hero is usually (but not always) the protagonist of the story. …
  • The Shadow. The Shadow is a complex archetype and worthy of an entire post of its own. …
  • The Herald. …
  • The Mentor. …
  • The Threshold Guardian. …
  • Allies. …
  • Shapeshifter. …
  • Trickster.

What archetype is Wonder woman?

The Warrior Archetype
Wonder Woman As The Warrior Archetype:

Wonder Woman, in my opinion, embodies the Warrior Archetype.

What are dark feminine archetypes?

Mythologically and psychologically, the Dark Feminine embodies intuition, mystery, magic, sexuality, birth, forces of creation and destruction, positive joyful feelings as well as destruction, negative and destructive dark affects, horror, trauma, soul loss, disintegration, chaos, death, destruction and despair.