What are the different types of X-rays dental?

6 Types of Dental X-Rays
  • Bitewing X-Ray.
  • Periapical X-Ray.
  • Occlusal X-Ray.
  • Panoramic X-Ray.
  • Cephalometric Projection.
  • Cone Beam X-ray.

What are the 3 types of X-rays?

There are several types of x-ray:
  • plain radiography, or plain x-ray.
  • computed tomography, known as CT scanning.
  • fluoroscopy — which produces moving images of an organ.
  • mammography — an x-ray of the breasts.
  • angiography — an x-ray of the blood vessels.

What are the three types of dental images?

There are three types of diagnostic radiographs taken in today’s dental offices — periapical (also known as intraoral or wall-mounted), panoramic, and cephalometric. Periapical radiographs are probably the most familiar, with images of a few teeth at a time captured on small film cards inserted in the mouth.

What are full mouth X-rays called?

Panoramic radiography, also called panoramic x-ray, is a two-dimensional (2-D) dental x-ray examination that captures the entire mouth in a single image, including the teeth, upper and lower jaws, surrounding structures and tissues.