What are the 5 scales in music?

Scales are one of the building blocks of music. The most common scales are major, minor, pentatonic, modes, whole tone, and chromatic scales.

How many types of musical scales are there?

So how many major scales are there and why? In total, there are 12 major scales because the major scale pattern can begin on any of the 12 notes of the musical alphabet.

What are the 12 scale in music?

The chromatic scale
The chromatic scale is a musical scale with twelve pitches, each a semitone, also known as a half-step, above or below its adjacent pitches. As a result, in 12-tone equal temperament (the most common tuning in Western music), the chromatic scale covers all 12 of the available pitches.

What are the 7 major scale?

In this lesson, you’ll meet the major scale’s seven modes—Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and Locrian—and learn how you can use their distinctive sounds to create more interesting melodies and chords.

What are the 3 major scales?

You should already know the scales of C, D, G and F major which are covered in Grade One Music Theory. In Grade Two ABRSM there are three new major scales which you need to know: A, Bb and Eb major. For Grade Two Trinity there are no new major scales to learn.

Which is the highest scale in music?

This system includes scales from 100000000000 (2048) to 111111111111 (4095), providing a total of 2048 possible species, but only 351 unique scales containing from 1 to 12 notes. Scales may also be shown as semitones from the tonic.

What is the C Dorian scale?

The notes of the C Dorian scale are C D Eb F G A Bb. It’s key signature has 2 flats.

Are blues scales major or minor?

The hexatonic, or six-note, blues scale consists of the minor pentatonic scale plus the ♭5th degree of the original heptatonic scale.

How many scale patterns are there?

Starting with the root on the 6th string, there are four common scale patterns. Note that in the first scale pattern you’re using open notes in the scale, but this pattern is movable and can be played anywhere on the neck.

What is the order of the 12 major scales?

The 12-Major Scales
  • C Major Scale. The C-Major scale is one of the first scales we learn because it doesn’t contain any sharps or flats. …
  • D Major Scale. The D-Major scale contains two sharps in the key signature, F-sharp and C-sharp. …
  • E Major Scale. …
  • F Major Scale. …
  • G Major Scale. …
  • A Major Scale. …
  • B Major Scale.

What are the 3 types of scale patterns?

The 3 Types of Minor Scales in Music
  • Natural Minor Scale.
  • Harmonic Minor Scale.
  • Melodic Minor Scale.

How many unique scales are there?

We can use this formula to calculate how many unique scales are possible – based on the number of notes in that scale. We can then sum all these up to find that there are 4,095 different possible unique scales.

What are the 7 musical notes?

In the chromatic scale there are 7 main musical notes called A, B, C, D, E, F, and G. They each represent a different frequency or pitch. For example, the “middle” A note has a frequency of 440 Hz and the “middle” B note has a frequency of 494 Hz.

What are the 5 major scales on guitar?

The five C-A-G-E-D scale shapes (C shape, A shape, G shape, E shape and D shape) surround the entire fretboard. The “shapes” are sometimes also referred to as “positions”.

What are the 3 minor scales?

MINOR SCALES: There are 3 forms of minor scales: natural, harmonic and melodic.