What are the 5 air quality index categories?

EPA calculates the AQI for five major air pollutants regulated by the Clean Air Act: ground-level ozone, particle pollution (also known as particulate matter), carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, and nitrogen dioxide.

What is the classification for air pollution?

Air pollutants are classified as primary pollutants and secondary pollutants. (ii) Secondary air pollutants are formed because of reactions between primary pollutants and other elements in the atmosphere, such as the ozone.

What are the 4 types of air pollutants?

The common air pollutants are:
  • Particulate matter (PM10 and PM2. …
  • Ozone (O3)
  • Nitrogen dioxide (NO2)
  • Carbon monoxide (CO)
  • Sulphur dioxide (SO2)

What are the 6 major classes of air pollutants?

These six pollutants are carbon monoxide, lead, nitrogen oxides, ground-level ozone, particle pollution (often referred to as particulate matter), and sulfur oxides.

What are the 7 criteria air pollutants?

The pollutants are particulate matter, ozone, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide and lead.

What are the 3 types of air pollution?

The most common and harmful pollutants outdoors include: particulate matter. nitrogen dioxide. ozone.

How is air quality measured?

Air quality is measured with the Air Quality Index, or AQI. The AQI works sort of like a thermometer that runs from 0 to 500 degrees. However, instead of showing changes in the temperature, the AQI is a way of showing changes in the amount of pollution in the air.

What are the types of air?

There are four categories for air masses: arctic, tropical, polar and equatorial. Arctic air masses form in the Arctic region and are very cold. Tropical air masses form in low-latitude areas and are moderately warm.

What are the 2 types of pollutants?

The two types of air pollutants are primary pollutants, which enter the atmosphere directly, and secondary pollutants, which form from a chemical reaction.

What are pollutants classify them with examples?

eg smog, ozone, sulphur trioxide, nitrogen dioxide. a) Bio-Degradable Pollutants- the pollutants which are decomposed by natural processes eg domestic (municipal) sewage. b) Non Bio-degradable Pollutants- The pollutants which don’t decompose naturally or decompose slowly eg. DDT, Aluminium cans.

What is water pollution classification?

Water pollutants can be classified as organic pollutants, inorganic pollutants, pathogens, suspended solids, nutrients and agriculture pollutants, thermal, radioactive, and other pollutants. Organic and inorganic pollutants are mainly discharged from industrial effluents and sewage into the water bodies.

What two categories are used in classifying particulate matter?

EPA groups particle pollution into two categories: “Inhalable coarse particles,” such as those found near roadways and dusty industries, are larger than 2.5 micrometers and smaller than 10 micrometers in diameter. “Fine particles,” such as those found in smoke and haze, are 2.5 micrometers in diameter and smaller.

What are the main causes of air pollution?

Vehicle emissions, fuel oils and natural gas to heat homes, by-products of manufacturing and power generation, particularly coal-fueled power plants, and fumes from chemical production are the primary sources of human-made air pollution.

What is the example of air pollution?

Car emissions, chemicals from factories, dust, pollen and mold spores may be suspended as particles. Ozone, a gas, is a major part of air pollution in cities. When ozone forms air pollution, it’s also called smog. Some air pollutants are poisonous.

What are the types of pollution?

The three major types of pollution are air pollution, water pollution, and land pollution.