What is the monarch classified as?

Powers of the monarch

In an absolute monarchy, the monarch rules as an autocrat, with absolute power over the state and government—for example, the right to rule by decree, promulgate laws, and impose punishments.

What is the classification of butterflies?

Insects are pancrustacean hexapod invertebrates of the class Insecta. They are the largest group within the arthropod phylum. Insects have a chitinous exoskeleton, a three-part body, three pairs of jointed legs, compound eyes and one pair of antennae.


What type is a monarch butterfly?

The monarch butterfly or simply monarch (Danaus plexippus) is a milkweed butterfly (subfamily Danainae) in the family Nymphalidae. Other common names, depending on region, include milkweed, common tiger, wanderer, and black-veined brown.

What family is the monarch butterfly in?

The Nymphalidae are the largest family of butterflies, with more than 6,000 species distributed throughout most of the world. Belonging to the superfamily Papilionoidea, they are usually medium-sized to large butterflies.


What is the characteristic and classification of butterfly?

Butterflies are insects in the macrolepidopteran clade Rhopalocera from the order Lepidoptera, which also includes moths. Adult butterflies have large, often brightly coloured wings, and conspicuous, fluttering flight.

What is the 7 classifications of butterfly?

Butterfly Classification

Families – Hesperiidae, Lycaenidae, Nymphalidae, Papilionidae, Pieridae, Riodinidae.

Why is it called a monarch butterfly?

The common name of this butterfly was assigned by early settlers to North America. There was, at the time, a King William (the 3rd, apparently), Prince of Orange, state holder of Holland, who would later be named King of England. The butterfly’s colour lead to the name: monarch.

What are monarch butterflies known for?

Monarch butterflies are one of the most recognizable species of butterflies in North America. They are widely known for their incredible migratory pattern. They travel between 1,200 and 2,800 miles or more to their overwintering spots in Mexico and Southern California from the northern United States and Canada.

What are 3 interesting facts about monarch butterflies?

Males have a black scent spot on a vein on each hind wing while females do not; females have more black scales along their wing veins. Breeding monarchs live two to five weeks. A female may lay several hundred eggs in her lifetime. Eggs hatch after about four to six days in average spring and summer temperatures.

What is the scientific name of butterfly?

Butterfly Scientific Name

Rhopalocera (suborder) Butterflies are insects that fall under the suborder Rhopalocera, from the order Lepidoptera, which also includes moths.

Why are butterflies classified under the phylum Arthropoda?

Animals which have jointed appendages belong to this phylum. This is the largest phylum in the animal kingdom. Butterflies are insects and hence they belong to the phylum Arthropoda.

Are butterflies mammals or reptiles?

Answer and Explanation: No, butterflies are insects that belong to the taxonomic order Lepidoptera. There are over 18,500 species of butterfly that are found on every…

What is a butterfly 🦋?

A butterfly is a flying insect with a small body and large, often colorful wings. Some gardeners plant specific flowers that attract butterflies. Butterflies are closely related to moths, which also have wings that are large in proportion to their bodies and antennae.

What are the 5 classes of Phylum Arthropoda?

Arthropods can be grouped into several subphyla, with each of these subphyla then divided into different classes. Arthropods are traditionally divided into 5 subphyla: Trilobitomorpha (Trilobites), Chelicerata, Crustacea, Myriapoda, and Hexapoda.

What are the 4 main classes of arthropods?

Arthropods are divided into four major groups:
  • insects;
  • myriapods (including centipedes and millipedes);
  • arachnids (including spiders, mites and scorpions);
  • crustaceans (including slaters, prawn and crabs).

What are characteristics of butterflies?

Unlike moths, butterflies are active during the day and are usually brightly coloured or strikingly patterned. Perhaps the most distinctive physical features of the butterfly are its club-tipped antennae and its habit of holding the wings vertically over the back when at rest.

What are the 7 levels of classification for a spider?

Integrated Taxonomic Information System – Report
PhylumArthropoda – Artrópode, arthropodes, arthropods
SubphylumChelicerata – cheliceriformes, quelicerado, queliceriforme
SubclassArachnida – araignées, aracnídeo, arachnids, arácnidos
OrderAraneae – spiders, aranhas, araignées, arañas

What are the 7 classes of phylum Arthropoda your answer?

Many familiar species belong to the phylum Arthropoda—insects, spiders, scorpions, centipedes, and millipedes on land; crabs, crayfish, shrimp, lobsters, and barnacles in water (Fig. 3.72).

Is a Butterfly an arthropod?

Arthropods are a motley crew: cockroaches, crabs, butterflies, beetles, centipedes, scorpions, shrimp, spiders, lobsters, lice, ticks, termites, potato bugs, and sea monkeys (a.k.a., brine shrimp) — they’re all examples of arthropods.

Is a mosquito an arthropod?

Arthropod vectors include mosquitoes, flies, biting midges, ticks, mites, fleas, bugs, lice, and other arthropods that carry and transmit disease-causing organisms, or pathogens, from one host to another.

Which animal has 3 pairs of legs?

Insects are invertebrates with three pairs of legs, usually two pairs of wings, one pair of antenna, jointed appendages and three distinct body regions – head, thorax and abdomen. Insects belong to the largest phylum of animals known as arthropods.

What are the examples of arthropods?

Arthropod/Lower classifications