How are vehicles classified?

Various methods are used to classify vehicles; in North America, passenger vehicles are classified by total interior capacity while trucks are classified by gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR). Vehicle segments in the European Union use linear measurements to describe size.

What is meant by vehicle classification?

A vehicle class refers to the size, weight and number of wheels it has.

How many types of vehicles are there?

There’s a world of choice in today’s car market, what with more than 400 different models and many car types available.

What is a Class 4 vehicle?

A Class 4 MOT is your standard MOT test for most cars or vehicles with up to 8 passenger seats. This includes taxis, private hire cars, ambulances, motorhomes, campervans, most vans and smaller commercial vehicles with a weight of up to 3,000 kg.

Why are vehicles classified?

“Vehicle classification is one of the many ways to identify a vehicle”. “Vehicle classification is an important part of intelligent transportation systems by enabling collection of valuable information for various applications, such as road surveillance and system planning”.

What is a Class 3 vehicle?

Class 3 Vehicles – Trucks with 3 or more Axles and a Height of greater-than 7.5 feet. Large Truck. Large Truck with Trailer.

What is a Class 6 vehicle?

Class 6—With GVWRs between 19,501 and 26,000, this class covers medium-duty commercial trucks. It’s the category for single-axle and beverage trucks, along with rack trucks. School buses are also in Class 6. What’s more, this is the class where the need for Commercial Driver’s Licenses starts.

What is a Class 1 car?

Class 1 is defined as an unlimited four-wheel single and two-seat vehicles. No production bodied vehicles allowed in this class. Engines must be normally aspirated. Since it is an open-class, all components are considered open unless restricted by SCORE International.

What is a Class 7 van?

Class 7 MOTs apply to commercial vehicles that have a gross weight of between 3,000kg and 3,500kg – for example, larger versions of vans like the Mercedes Sprinter and Ford Transit. If you’re not sure if your vehicle falls into this weight category, you can check your V5 registration document or handbook.

What is automobile or vehicle explain the classification of vehicles?


Automobile is a vehicle driven by an internal combustion engine and it is used for transportation of passengers and goods on the ground. Automobile can also be defined as a vehicle which can move by itself. Examples : Car, jeep, bus, truck, scooter, etc.

What is M1 and N1 category vehicles?

M1 vehicles – passenger cars. M2 and M3 vehicles – buses and coaches. N1 vehicles – light goods vehicles (up to 3,500kgs) N2 and N3 vehicles – heavy goods vehicles (over 3,500kgs)

How many registration classifications can a vehicle be classified under?

7. Registration Classification. -Every motor vehicle shall be registered under one of the following described classifications: (a) Private passenger automobiles; (b) private trucks; and (c) private motorcycles, scooters or motor wheel attachments.

What are the four classes of design vehicles?

AASHTO further identifies four general classes for design vehicles: passenger cars, buses, trucks, and recreational vehicles (RV). Note that within these groupings, there are different specific design vehicles.

What is an M2 vehicle?

Category M1: passenger vehicles with no more than eight seats (in addition to the driver’s). Category M2: buses with more than eight seats (in addition to the driver’s) and less than 5 tonnes. Category M3: buses with more than eight seats (in addition to the driver’s) and more than 5 tonnes.

What is M and N type vehicle?

Category M: vehicles carrying passengers. Category N: vehicles carrying goods. Category L: 2- and 3-wheel vehicles and quadricycles. Category T: agricultural and forestry tractors and their trailers.

What is a category B vehicle?

Category B – if you passed your test on or after 1 January 1997. You can drive vehicles up to 3,500kg MAM with up to 8 passenger seats (with a trailer up to 750kg). You can also tow heavier trailers if the total MAM of the vehicle and trailer is not more than 3,500kg.

What is l7 vehicle category?

Quadricycles (L7e), also referred to as Heavy quadricycles, are defined by Framework Directive 2002/24/EC as motor vehicles with four wheels “other than those referred to (as light quadricycles), whose unladen mass is not more than 450 kg (category L7e) (600 kg for vehicles intended for carrying goods), not including …

Who can drive N1 category?

In general, motor vehicles designed and built to transport goods, having at least 4 wheels and mass not exceeding 3.5 tonnes, lie within the N1 type approval (truck) category in international classification. These means vehicles with N1 type approval can be driven by holders of a normal driving licence.